Green Cabbage Caldo Verde Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Double delicious! My husband is Portuguese, and his mother used to make this weekly. I've been looking for the recipe ever since--this is it! Even better the next day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
WOW! I made this with authentic Chourico from Furtados in Fall River, my childhood home. I took heed and followed the recipe, except to add salt to Kosher 3 Tsp. I added 1 Tsp of ground black pepper and 1 Tbsp of red pepper flakes. I used the boat motor; easy, and left it with some chunk. I used half green cabbage and half kale. This is awesome! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Even though I didn't have quite the right ingredients, it came out very tasty! Used regular paprika, smoked Polish sausage (slightly browned in a cast iron skillet), and added carrots with the potatoes. I used about 3 tsp salt. My submersible blender work wonderfully to puree the soup. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I wasn't sure this was a keeper until I tried it the next day. Wow, so much richer. I did use smoked sausage and fried it first and then added some butter to the soup. Five stars for simplicity!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Cabbage is not the standard for this soup at all. It seems a good recipe, but the best substitute (what can easily be found in american grocery stores) is collard greens. Cut out the stems, rolls the leaves up tightly, finely shred them with a knife and add to the bowls, not the pot. The potatoes should be mostly mashed, not pureed and pasty looking. And when my Avo (grandma) cant get chourico or linguica sausage, she uses mild italian sausage. Its a bit strong but still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Great soup! My family loved it, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Hello from Portugal, the traditional caldo Verde, is usually made with Kale leaf, very very finely sliced, here in Portugal we usually don't use cabbage, thats why we call it "caldo verde" which mean green soup, and you get the green colour from the Kale leafa, otherwise your receipe is perfect. On the side we like to serve it with a nice slice of Portuguese corn bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
This soup is absolutely fantastic! It is hearty and filling and super good!! I had to use linguica instead of chorico because that was all I could find! I'll be making this often, thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
I love cabbage soup. I was looking for a different recipe and tried this one. This is excellent and easy to make. I will be making it again. I did not have Portuguese chourico sausage and used italian sausage. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cornwall, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Will make again. Added carrots, didn't have chourico, so used ham and smoked saugage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 52GLASSACT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harlowton, Montana, USA
Living In: Sumner, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States