Green Bell Peppers stuffed with Tomato Lentil Couscous Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2003
This is the best of the stuffed bell peppers recipes, in my opinion. Couscous is a perfect filler--much tastier than white rice. I use turkey instead of beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jes Marie Sloan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lillington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
Excellent! Very tasty and simple to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2001
Just to be a bit more clear, the top five green peppers are not chopped, they are halved, gutted and cleaned. The two jars of spaghetti sauce are: 28oz is Ragu green pepper and mushroom sauce, and the 16oz is Hunt's Special Ready sauce. I save about a quarter of the sauce without the cous cous and spoon it around the peppers. Like I said, its a very meaty meal! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATJENKINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Holland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2004
This is now my favorite stuffed pepper recipe. I used roasted garlic and olive oil couscous as I couldn't find the tomato lentil. I used only one 28 oz can of tomato sauce. Even my two boys loved it! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Vernal, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
It's easy to make, relatively fast, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
This was excellent. It looks great and tastes great. I also only one jar of spaghetti sauce and it turned out great. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
This is delicious. I used plain couscous because that's what I had on hand. The amount of stuffing was enough to stuff twice as many bell peppers as the recipe says (maybe my peppers were small), but my family was more than happy to eat it again the next day. It's a very filling and delicious recipe and good for the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUNKGIRL
Reviewed: May 15, 2005
I was looking for a couscous recipe as I had a package and had never tried it before. This one tasted very good. Would try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2005
I love these peppers. I made a some of changes: 1) used about 12 oz of cheese--half I mixed into the stuffing, and other half was sprinkled on top; 2) could not find tomato lentil couscous, so I used the parmesan/garlic/olive oil couscous I had on hand; 3) Instead of 2 jars spaghetti sauce I used 1 jar sauce, and 2 cans stewed tomatoes; 3) Used 1 pound ground round and 1 pound hot italian sausage; 4) Used green, red, orange and yellow bell peppers; 5) Since filling looked very soupy, I sprinkled Italian breadcrumbs over filling, just before sprinkling with cheese (hoping breadcrumbs would absorb some liquid) This was very good the first night (but I was not bowled over--would have rated this a 3 star recipe). However, after sitting in the fridge overnight, the flavors melded, texture firmed up (filling was not as soupy as it was the first night)--these peppers were absolutely fantastic as left-overs. My suggestion is to make these 1 day ahead of time so flavors/texture develop. Next time I may add some sun-dried tomatoes and mushrooms--and lentils! Thanks--you've made a stuffed pepper lover out of me. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2005
Yum! I did change the recipe a bit, too. I excluded the chopped pepper in the filling, added some Italian breadcrumbs and some diced tomatoes. I also used wildmushroom and herb couscous and it was fabulous!! So easy to make and like the previous poster thought - better favors on the second day. Can't wait to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States