Green Bell Peppers stuffed with Tomato Lentil Couscous Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
A tasty stuffed pepper recipe! Using couscous is an outstanding idea! Maybe I should not rate it, because I changed the recipe to create more "user friendly" Nutritional Values, for my family's health requirements.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
I couldn't find tomato lentil couscous, so I bought a wild mushroom and garlic variety. What an absolute waste of time! It contributed nothing to this good and tasty but everyday, run-of-the-mill meat sauce. Personally, I would recommend saving your $2+, and just make this recipe without it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
Simply awesome! I have been asked over and over for this recipe. Thanks Catherine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2005
I made some changes (based on what I had available and on my own taste) but everyone I had over for dinner really liked this. I used 4 green bell peppers, cut in half length-wise. In my food processor, I roughly chopped 3 cloves of garlic, a yellow onion and half of a green pepper. I cooked one pound of ground pork, mixed in the chopped veggies, salt, pepper and only half a jar of plain, Italian tomato baking sauce (just spaghetti sauce without any chunks in it). I cooked garlic and olive oil couscous and mixed it into the pork. Then I stuffed the peppers, sprinked a little sharp cheddar and baked. Everyone said they really liked it. I liked that the peppers, after 20 minutes of baking, were still rather firm (I hate limp bell pepper). I give it 4 stars because I made so many changes and didn't follow the recipe exactly. Next time I'll leave the onions chunkier and add halved cherry tomatoes and make a different kind of couscous (mushroom?).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hartford, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2005
Yum! I did change the recipe a bit, too. I excluded the chopped pepper in the filling, added some Italian breadcrumbs and some diced tomatoes. I also used wildmushroom and herb couscous and it was fabulous!! So easy to make and like the previous poster thought - better favors on the second day. Can't wait to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2005
I love these peppers. I made a some of changes: 1) used about 12 oz of cheese--half I mixed into the stuffing, and other half was sprinkled on top; 2) could not find tomato lentil couscous, so I used the parmesan/garlic/olive oil couscous I had on hand; 3) Instead of 2 jars spaghetti sauce I used 1 jar sauce, and 2 cans stewed tomatoes; 3) Used 1 pound ground round and 1 pound hot italian sausage; 4) Used green, red, orange and yellow bell peppers; 5) Since filling looked very soupy, I sprinkled Italian breadcrumbs over filling, just before sprinkling with cheese (hoping breadcrumbs would absorb some liquid) This was very good the first night (but I was not bowled over--would have rated this a 3 star recipe). However, after sitting in the fridge overnight, the flavors melded, texture firmed up (filling was not as soupy as it was the first night)--these peppers were absolutely fantastic as left-overs. My suggestion is to make these 1 day ahead of time so flavors/texture develop. Next time I may add some sun-dried tomatoes and mushrooms--and lentils! Thanks--you've made a stuffed pepper lover out of me. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2005
I was looking for a couscous recipe as I had a package and had never tried it before. This one tasted very good. Would try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
This is delicious. I used plain couscous because that's what I had on hand. The amount of stuffing was enough to stuff twice as many bell peppers as the recipe says (maybe my peppers were small), but my family was more than happy to eat it again the next day. It's a very filling and delicious recipe and good for the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUNKGIRL
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
This was excellent. It looks great and tastes great. I also only one jar of spaghetti sauce and it turned out great. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
It's easy to make, relatively fast, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States