Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2015
Not very healthy but very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
Oh man, I am turned! I usually hate beans, but this was so good. There's no way to mess these beans up, I eyeballed the recipe a few times and they turned out great every time. I always skip the bacon to cut the fat, but I can imagine how good it must be along with it. However, if you don't have a sweet tooth, or prefer your food more savoury and salty, this isn't for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
I used fresh beans a well. This was very good but I would cut back on the brown sugar mixture. It made the dish way too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sanford, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
This was a really good recipe. I often make green bean bundles using these same ingredients; wrapping the bundles in the bacon then topping with the brown sugar/butter mixture before baking. This is like a deconstructed version of the bundles, it's very quick and easy and tastes delicious. It also reheats very well. I halved the recipe since there are only two of us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Use Allen's green beans. Brown sugar and bacon has to be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I used maple sugar bacon so reduced the amount of brown sugar in the recipe by half. To make better I would cut the bacon into smaller pieces (still lay on top) so that it's easier to eat. All my guests ended up cutting the bacon to eat with the beans anyway, so then they'd be precut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Made this for Christmas dinner, and everybody fought over them! Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
I'm so happy that I found this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I used fresh green beans instead of canned...I also partially cooked the bacon so that it would be nice and crisp once cooked. I wasn't sure if I should cover the pan before baking, so I didn't. The green beans came out very crisp. I think next time I make this I will cover the dish with aluminum foil so that the beans can steam. This probably wouldn't be a problem with canned beans, but I like the taste of fresh beans much more than canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OZBOZ79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corning, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Made these for Thanksgiving lunch and should have doubled the recipe as it was one of the few sides with no leftovers! Used fresh beans and microwaved slightly per another reviewer's suggestion. Added 1/4 tsp of cayenne pepper instead of black pepper which gave it a nice kick. And mixed dry ingredients, chopped up apple maple smoked bacon night before and prepared in the a.m.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States