Green Beans with Smokey Bacon Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Wonderful! I nailed it the second time around. Vinegar had just a little bite and beans were perfect! Amazing complement to my grilled bacon-wrapped Elk Backstrap Filet Mignon! I urge people to follow the instructions, as I was too busy with my grilled salmon the first time I made this and it was not as good as last night's batch. When the bacon STARTS to brown, add the onions. I had hard, unappealing bacon the first time because I let it finish like I would for breakfast, then had all the extra cooking time on top of that. To those who have seen fit to complain about the vinegar taste, please pay attention to the name of the dish, then note the word vinegar a second time in the ingredients. Then, don't make this dish and that should save you much heartburn about the flavor you will achieve with this side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NM Elk Hunter

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
This dish is wonderful Frank and certainly no secret as it's a very typical side that German and Austrian families have been making for years. So glad you discovered it tho because it really is amazing. I went for the big guns and used a whole pound of bacon and apple cider vinegar instead of the red. Family "yummed" their way all thru dinner and told me that it tasted just like my German potato salad except with green beans! Thank so much Frank!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Made this with fresh yellow beans from my local farmers market. It was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Great recipe! I've made green beans with bacon before, but the red wine vinegar adds a lot. I steamed the green beans and skipped the parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I used bacon bits and rice wine vinegar. It was great, even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
I made this recipe twice, once with red wine vinegar and once with apple cider vinegar since many reviewers were mixed on which was better. Both were excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
This is the second weekend I've made these and they were just fantastic. This is a really easy recipe and the flavors are a wel come change to regular Ole green beans will be making these alot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom Stanley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
cooked everything together. came out great. kids liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
My family loved it, instead of cooking it I had the beans in the steamer for 3 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zswanie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Definitely a fan. The beans tasted very fresh since they were just quick cooked. Being in the south, we typically eat bacon and onion in our cooked to a pulp green beans (nearly an hour). This was great for me and had what I would call a West Coast taste. I gave four instead of five as I do love my overcooked green beans a little more; however, this was a great switch up and delish! Score for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rene016

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States