Green Beans with Smokey Bacon Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
This dish is wonderful Frank and certainly no secret as it's a very typical side that German and Austrian families have been making for years. So glad you discovered it tho because it really is amazing. I went for the big guns and used a whole pound of bacon and apple cider vinegar instead of the red. Family "yummed" their way all thru dinner and told me that it tasted just like my German potato salad except with green beans! Thank so much Frank!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
this was ok, but I didn't care for the extra tangy tastew with the vinegar. I would cut back on that. However, I can tell you I did cut back on the bacon grease and that might have affected it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Made this with fresh yellow beans from my local farmers market. It was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
cooked everything together. came out great. kids liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I used shallots rather than onions and loved them caramelized. As recommended by another reviewer, I used apple cider vinegar rather than the red wine vinegar and preferred that exchange. The small amount of sugar and vinegar was not enough to produce the sweet-sour tang I sort of expected and I was glad it didn't. It was, however, enough to contribute great flavor. As for the bacon, it's hard to go wrong adding it to just about anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
This is a delightful twist to boring ole' green beans. I used turkey bacon and sliced sweet Maui onions and actually love these carmelized! Another reviewer, Linda Mclean, suggested apple cider vinegar in place of red wine vinegar and so I used that instead. Loved the subtle sweet-n-sour tang, and it's not overpowering, which is good for all of us! Everyone here loves bacon so you can't go wrong with that in this or any other dish! Thank you for sharing Frank!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Great recipe! I've made green beans with bacon before, but the red wine vinegar adds a lot. I steamed the green beans and skipped the parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
I just wasn't that impressed with this dish. I love the combination of ingredients and followed the recipe exactly but something was missing for me, not enough flavor. Sorry. I drained off the bacon grease, was I supposed to do that? Maybe that is why it just lacked flavor for me. I will try this again as I have had all of these ingredients in the past but for some reason this just wasn't flavorful enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I used bacon bits and rice wine vinegar. It was great, even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
My family loved it, instead of cooking it I had the beans in the steamer for 3 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zswanie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States