Green Beans with Herb Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I am saving this recipe. i made some variations due to my ingrediants on hand as follows: I substituted garlic powder for the garlic, walnut oil in place of the olive oil and 1 well diced purple onion in place of the green onions. It was just beautiful. Next time I make this, I will dry the blanched green beans on a towel after cooling. Using the purple onion made the presentation beautiful. I hope to hear what others think of the variations. I also may try pecan oil. :) Joy Kee
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I have been trying various green been dishes for years to go with my family's Thanksgiving or Christmas Eve dinners in the off years when we have to travel an hour or more by car. It's hard to bring a warm vegetable dish long distance and not have it end up overcooked or soggy. I like this because it is simple and savory, and the dressing can be made beforehand. All you need to do when you get there is steam the already prepared beans. I would like to tweak the spices, maybe trying fresh versions. The olive oil, lemon, and mustard are a very workable base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BP3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waterville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
I liked this recipe but the second time I made it I tried out a variation, which everyone loved. Omit mustard, cut down olive oil to 2 tbsp., add 1 tbsp. sesame oil and 2 tbsp. light soy sauce. My boyfriend's two teenagers had three servings each!If you wish you can also add 1/2 c. toasted sesame seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Loved these! I followed the advice of another review and made the dressing a few hours ahead!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
A little too much onion and perhaps a little too heavy on the herbs...this just didn't turn out for me. I love green beans and this was actually better cold than warm and perhaps it was because it marinated for a bit. Not something I'd make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
i really liked this. i made it for christmas eve and forgot to put it out. had it christmas night, and i was delicious. i will make this again with my own green beans this summer. thanks for the post drew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Using the whole 1/3 cup of olive oil was unnecessary. I only used a couple of tablespoons. I only used a pinch of salt as we're watching our salt intake. I think this would have been better if I'd roasted the green beans and I'd omitted the sugar. It was good, but not great. I was hugely disappointed. If I make this again, I'll double the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Pretty good...definately easy. I think letting the marinade sit for a while helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
So, I kinda estimated the amounts. And I used dijon mustard instead of dry. And I halved the oil and about doubled the lemon juice. But it smells and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States