Green Beans with Hazelnuts and Lemon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
Good, but as others have noticed, not particularly original. The flavors work well together and the hazelnuts are yummy, but they all end up in the bottom of the bowl so you might as well toast some hazelnuts and sprinkle some lemon juice over them. Thanks anyway, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Didn't have hazelnuts, so I made the recipe without. These were phenomenal. Yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Excellent! I used roasted cashews (like the texture better) instead. I cooked green beans for about 3 minutes. Recipe taste good warm or cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ada

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
I served these and was told thank you for the gourmet meal! Everyone raved about these and people who usually don't eat green beans loved these. I love them cold to snack on the next day too. This is now my dish I will serve to almost every guest this year with hopes I will have some left over for the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I loved the fact that there was a basic recipe provided for me which I could alter to fit the theme I had going for my meal. Here's what I did: Instead of olive oil, I used canola oil. Instead of hazelnuts, I used chopped roasted almonds since I had them on hand. After they were finished cooking, I squeezed lemon juice over them and topped them with a small dusting of grated Parmesan cheese. I served them with blackened chicken with lemon juice and brown rice. Next time, I will follow the recipe exactly because it's simple and I think it will be delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Was a nice idea, but didn't go over well at my house. If we are not doing our beans plain, we really like them with butter, brown sugar, and almonds. Just carmalize the almonds with the butter and sugar before adding the pre boiled green beans and you have a vegetable disguise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by punkcrash2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hudson, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Nice way to add flavor to green beans. Almonds are a good substitute for the hazelnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
m,m
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Great recipe! I thought it needed a little more lemon zest though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
This is very tasty and I love the twist on this dish. I had raw hazelnuts which I lightly toasted and rough chopped. I cooked the fresh green beans until it was tender but still had a little crunch. I put it in ice cold water to stop the cooking process and retained the bright green color of the green beans. I added the olive oil, salt, black pepper and lemon zest to taste. I let it marinate all day until it was ready to serve. The hint of lemon zest gave the beans a nice freshness and added taste without it being too overpowering. The star of this dish is the HAZELNUTS! I am sure you could use toasted almonds in place of this but I love how the hazelnuts gave this a nuttier and earthy flavor with the light seasonings and nice crunch from green beans. This is my new favorite way to prepare green beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States