Green Beans with Cherry Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
I made this for for a small dinner party and it came out very good. I did skip the sugar and used grape tomatoes instead of cherry. I also sprinkled it with a mixture of italian bread crumbs and parmesan cheese, which gave it a nice touch. It was a nice change from plain ol' green beans! Would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
252 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2005
This was very good! A neighbor went on vacation and he told me to help myself to his garden! He had a lot of green beans and cherry tomatoes so I found this recipe on the ingredient search. I omitted the garlic salt and sautéed 2 cloves of garlic and a small shallot (like another reviewer) in the butter and then added the tomatoes. I then added salt, pepper and basil and then I placed the green beans in the skillet so they could get a little of the spices cooked in them. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
A great idea to perk up ordinary green beans, but I found the addition of sugar to be distracting-- too sweet even with only a tablespoon. Mind you my husband and children had no complaints! Will definitely try again without the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
This outstanding vegetable dish had my vegetable-hating extended family raving at Thanksgiving dinner, and they REQUESTED it again for Christmas! Easy to prepare, BEAUTIFUL to present, good for you -- what's not to like? I steamed fresh green beans, sauted slivered garlic cloves in the butter, used grape tomatoes sliced in halves (less watery than cherry). I tossed the steamed beans into the butter & garlic concoction and sauteed a bit more, then added the tomatoes when I turned off the heat, so they simply picked up the warmth of the already prepared dish, and did not actually "cook" and get mushy. Fabulous, and THANK YOU for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
Love this recipe as is, have made it often, but as a variation I add a little minced fresh garlic and onions to the butter, sugar, salt, pepper & basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
These were wonderful and looked absolutely beautiful! I used frozen whole green beans (16 oz), 1 cup of halved grape tomatoes, increased the fresh basil to 1T, and added more salt. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roscoe, Illinois, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
Yum! I thought these were excellent...a great way to get your vegetables in. I did what another user suggested and crumbled bacon on top and it was great! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jharmon40

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2005
Good recipe. I halved the butter and it was plenty. Next time I will use less sugar as it was a bit too sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
I omitted the sugar on purpose and the basil because I forgot, but these were still delicious without either. I chose to use fresh minced garlic rather than garlic salt, but I do think that would have been just fine too. I think 10 minutes cooking time is far too long - test after 5-6 minutes. I used Haricots Verts and five minutes cooked them to the "just tender" stage I prefer. (I hate crunchy "cooked" vegetables) Less cooking time, no sugar, and fresh minced garlic elevates this to a 5-star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
Great recipe for a dinner party. Looks beautiful on the plate. Also quite delicous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greer, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 509) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States