Green Beans with Cherry Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Oh so yummy! I did use 2 cloves of garlic and a chopped shallot in place of the garlic salt, and omitted the sugar. Even without the green beans, this treatment of tomatoes and basil is a versatile base! I could use it on pasta, chicken, pork...lovin' it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: High Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
I omitted the sugar on purpose and the basil because I forgot, but these were still delicious without either. I chose to use fresh minced garlic rather than garlic salt, but I do think that would have been just fine too. I think 10 minutes cooking time is far too long - test after 5-6 minutes. I used Haricots Verts and five minutes cooked them to the "just tender" stage I prefer. (I hate crunchy "cooked" vegetables) Less cooking time, no sugar, and fresh minced garlic elevates this to a 5-star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
This was so good. I used garlic powder not the salt, and sprinkled a touch of parm cheese. MMMMMmmm I ended up finishing it up as a snack for myself
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taylor, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Vero Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
This is a yummy dish, especially with fresh from the garden green beans and tomatoes. I toss this with some pasta to make a nice main dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
We like this one. I did add extra basil because there wasn't the flavor I was looking for. Add'd only 1tsp. It was great. My husband even liked it. He's hard to please.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KellTell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Sooooooo good. Made as is and added garlic and bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmwood Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Oakland, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Very good, I added only 1/2 the butter and used 1/2 EVOO. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
I steamed the green beans for several minutes in the microwave, then cooked in the butter over low heat and removed from the pan. I added the other ingredients as specified and mixed them as written. This had a fresh, buttery taste and was a nice note of color on the place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hays, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Great recipe. I did 4 instead of 5 stars because I don't think adding sugar to veggies is necessarily a great idea, but without the sugar it's a 5 star side dish, even for my green-bean-phobic husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
Minor changes. It seems like an awful lot of butter so I used half butter and half olive oil. I think next time I will use all olive oil....and probably a little less of it...to make a healthier version. It lso seemed a little too sweet for me/will probbly cut back the sugar as well....but overall very good and would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 494) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States