Green Beans with Caramelized Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
I thought this recipe was wonderful! My only change was not to cook the green beans quite as long initially, leaving them tender-crisp. Never thought of carmelizing pearl onions, but they add such a great flavor to this dish, as does the dill. Will be making this again & again. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robinsky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belle Fourche, South Dakota, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Loved this. I cooked this way down and added some Parmesan cheese. I'm sure it's fabulous without it, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Sutliff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: New Castle, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
This dish was heavenly. Omitted the dill, after browning the onions added some balsamic vinegarswirled for a few secs and then added some diced mushrooms tossed for a few and then added the green beans, Everyone gave this one a hands up for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ibsal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seneca Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
I absolutely love this recipe and have made it many times, especially for parties. I use 2 or 3 sliced fresh onions in place of the frozen pearl onions and whole frozen green beans in place of the cut ones, and it looks beautiful. I carmelize the onions with the oil and sugar for about 10 - 15 minutes on low heat (check every couple minutes and give it a stir), then add the green beans until it stops "smoking" (from the ice) and is heated through. After I take it off, I add the fresh dill (I made it once with dried dill weed and it was awful), salt and pepper. It has a beautiful presentation, tastes great, and is easy to put together. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
nice, different way to make green beans...but they are still green beans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I thought this was "just okay". It was missing a little zip or pizzazz, probably a spice I can't put my name to at the moment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
pretty good, not great..plain
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Very very good! I love the slight sweetness. So much better than plain salt and pepper. I've also tried this with fresh snap peas. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Harte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henley, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
My daughter brought this for Thanksgiving. Delicious. She didn't have dill weed so didn't use it. Used fresh pearl onions. Cooked great beans longer than 3 min. Will make again next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States