Green Beans with Bread Crumbs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
No one would eat this but me. I thought it was ok, but probably won't bother to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer4massage

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Definitely not the raving review. But they were ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
As is I don't think this recipe would be great, so I gave it 3 stars. Ten minutes is way too long for green beans, they'd turn to mush and there is too much olive oil and that wouldn't help with the mush factor either, so it's no wonder that people are complaining about the bread crumbs being soggy. However I found this recipe to be easy to adjust & it turned out to be the best dish on our holiday table! I steamed the green beans with some sliced garlic until they were just slightly under cooked. Then in a saute pan I cooked 4 strips of diced bacon, and when they were almost brown I added some quartered mushroom and the herbs (I used fresh, but dry would still work great). Instead of adding the olive oil, I sauted the steamed beans and garlic in the bacon mixture (which I hadn't drained) and then added the bread crumbs & parmesan. Next I put the whole thing in a baking dish, sprinkled it with more breadcrumbs & parmesan, and put it in the oven for 15-20 minutes (just long enough to finish cooking the beans & mushrooms). The parmesan didn't really melt, but it browned up with the bread crumbs and made a nice crunchy layer on the top. It was incredible! It's the only thing that I made that had no leftovers! I have never served green beans at the holidays before, but I will from now on! 5 Stars for the finished product!...But I never would have gotten there without this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason~and~Krissi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Imperial Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Just made these for xmas eve dinner and everyone loved them, "mmm, these green beans are great. What's in them?" I changed things up a little as recommended in some of these reviews. To minimize the crunchy factor, I sautéed the bread crumbs and other seasoning prior to tossing with the beans , substituting butter for oil. I also crushed the spices in a grinder. Worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
These may be the best green beans we have ever had. This is so simple to make and has a great flavor. My mother generally won't even try anything green and she loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Felton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Monticello, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Pretty good. I put it together and let it sit in the fridge for a few hours and put it in the ovenfor 15 before dinner and I think that helped everything meld together well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina Giles Hester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
loved it, but I did fry the bread crumbs in butter before adding. I fried the leftovers the next day and they were awesome! Thank for a taste new green bean recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gizzardchunks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
I do one thing different, I just throw all the ingredients into a frying pan and cook them like that. This helps with the gritty bread crumbs, they soften up and the flavors are cooked into the beans. Otherwise, delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chazy, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
These tasted fine, but my son (who loves green beans) didn't touch them. I did add some fresh garlic, but if I make them again, I'll add more. Also, my bread crumbs were homemade, so maybe store-bought would hold up better? It was nice and fast though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
It was okay but not that great. It seems to be lacking something. It was just too bland. I probably won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 371) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States