Green Beans with Anchovies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly and liked it very much. However I think one must be very careful to blend the anchovies and the lemon, so that neither one is predominant. I, although I love lemon, found it a little too present.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
Added red bell pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
This was good but loved by everyone. I used a steamfresh bag of green beans and used the oil from my anchovies. I may make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Fresh (blanched) green beans. 3 inch ribbon of anchovy paste (more next time). Added a couple T's of minced onions. 3 X garlic. As others did I simmered all except beans then added a bit more water with beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
These were really good! I had a bag of 'steamfresh' green beans, so I just cooked them in the microwave as directed on the package, and in a small pan, I sauteed the anchovies w/ the oil, the garlic and I also added about 1/4 teaspoon of crushed red pepper flakes. I cooked that until the anchovies melted and then added the lemon juice. I tossed that with the green beans and seasoned them with black pepper. These were really great for something different and I'm glad I gave them a try. I will be making these again! Thanks for pposting. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
This recipe sounds really good but I haven't made it yet. I'm writing to alert others who, like me, must watch their sodium, fat and/or caloric intake, that the nutritional information accompanying this recipe is deceptive. It breaks this recipe down into 4 servings; however, with only a 9oz package of green beans and nothing else to bulk it up, this dish will serve 2 at the most unless you serve really tiny portions. For those of us of who must watch our salt, fat and/or caloric intake, an accurate (and realistic) nutritional analysis is very important.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
Husband doesn't much like anchovies and, I think, had made up his mind that he wasn't going to like this before he'd even tried it. I, on the other hand, liked it alot. The flavors blended really nicely. I made it with fresh green beans. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
Surprisingly good. The anchovy taste isn't overpowering and complements the green beans very well. I added a little extra lemon at the end of a little extra tartness and it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
so good! i sauteed the anchovy with the oil and butter first (b/c then the anchovy dissolves and your left with that great salty taste and no one complaining about eating little fish!). then i added water and beans and boiled - so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOKAAUGUNUM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States