Green Beans with Anchovies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly and liked it very much. However I think one must be very careful to blend the anchovies and the lemon, so that neither one is predominant. I, although I love lemon, found it a little too present.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
Added red bell pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
This was good but loved by everyone. I used a steamfresh bag of green beans and used the oil from my anchovies. I may make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Fresh (blanched) green beans. 3 inch ribbon of anchovy paste (more next time). Added a couple T's of minced onions. 3 X garlic. As others did I simmered all except beans then added a bit more water with beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
These were really good! I had a bag of 'steamfresh' green beans, so I just cooked them in the microwave as directed on the package, and in a small pan, I sauteed the anchovies w/ the oil, the garlic and I also added about 1/4 teaspoon of crushed red pepper flakes. I cooked that until the anchovies melted and then added the lemon juice. I tossed that with the green beans and seasoned them with black pepper. These were really great for something different and I'm glad I gave them a try. I will be making these again! Thanks for pposting. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
This recipe sounds really good but I haven't made it yet. I'm writing to alert others who, like me, must watch their sodium, fat and/or caloric intake, that the nutritional information accompanying this recipe is deceptive. It breaks this recipe down into 4 servings; however, with only a 9oz package of green beans and nothing else to bulk it up, this dish will serve 2 at the most unless you serve really tiny portions. For those of us of who must watch our salt, fat and/or caloric intake, an accurate (and realistic) nutritional analysis is very important.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
Husband doesn't much like anchovies and, I think, had made up his mind that he wasn't going to like this before he'd even tried it. I, on the other hand, liked it alot. The flavors blended really nicely. I made it with fresh green beans. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
Surprisingly good. The anchovy taste isn't overpowering and complements the green beans very well. I added a little extra lemon at the end of a little extra tartness and it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
so good! i sauteed the anchovy with the oil and butter first (b/c then the anchovy dissolves and your left with that great salty taste and no one complaining about eating little fish!). then i added water and beans and boiled - so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOKAAUGUNUM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States