Green Beans with Almonds and Caramelized Shallots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
This was absolutely amazing! I didn't use shallots too expensive but chopped white onions. I'm bringing this to my mothers Thanksgiving dinner from now on!! Great flavor even though I was tempted to use garlic but it doesn't need it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweetgirlinsd
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
I prepared this ahead of time, deliberately undercooking the beans a little so that they'd be just right when I reheated them in the microwave just before serving. I didn't want all the futzing around with caramelizing shallots, toasting almonds and blanching green beans in the midst of cooking the rest of dinner and it worked out well. While I probably won't make beans like this routinely because it requires a little more effort, this will be something I'll remember when I want something more special. I omitted the sugar - there's enough in the shallots for them to caramelize on their own and I didn't want any sweetness. Once I cooked the green beans I arranged them on a serving plate, then topped them with the bell pepper/shallot mixture rather than tossing it all together. It made for a very attractive presentation. This was definitely a welcome and delicious departure from the same old boring green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
196 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
These green beans were great. I love the hint of garlic that the shallots add. I used french cut green beans and steamed them in a pan, although next time I think I'll use steamer bags in the microwave to save time and dishes. I toasted the almonds and they added great flavor. I think next time I'll use more almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okemos, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I loved this!!! I did cut back on the sugar though to about 1 tbsp. Didn't have slivered almonds but sliced and didn't have red bell pepper but green. A keeper recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Collierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
Delicious! I used a mixture of green and yellow beans, but otherwise made as written. This is my new favourite bean recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
This is my new favorite way to prepare green beans. These are delicious, and everyone at my dinner party loved them. I only used 1 tablespoon of sugar, other wise I followed the recipe as written. Caramelizing the shallots gives such a wonderful flavor to these green beans. These are going to be on my table for Thanksgiving also. Thanks for sharing this great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
I made this recipe for a holiday dinner last night. It got rave reviews. The only comment, though, is that the recipe states that it takes 5-8 minutes for the shallots to caramelize. It actually takes about a half hour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I made this for Thanksgiving dinner, as a change from the usual green beans. There were rave reviews all around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This is my new favorite way to cook green beans. I cannot think of one change I would make -- I accidentally overcooked the green beans and it was still delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Pretty green and red dish for the holidays and tastes great too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States