Green Beans with Almonds and Caramelized Shallots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
I prepared this ahead of time, deliberately undercooking the beans a little so that they'd be just right when I reheated them in the microwave just before serving. I didn't want all the futzing around with caramelizing shallots, toasting almonds and blanching green beans in the midst of cooking the rest of dinner and it worked out well. While I probably won't make beans like this routinely because it requires a little more effort, this will be something I'll remember when I want something more special. I omitted the sugar - there's enough in the shallots for them to caramelize on their own and I didn't want any sweetness. Once I cooked the green beans I arranged them on a serving plate, then topped them with the bell pepper/shallot mixture rather than tossing it all together. It made for a very attractive presentation. This was definitely a welcome and delicious departure from the same old boring green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
195 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
I made this recipe for a holiday dinner last night. It got rave reviews. The only comment, though, is that the recipe states that it takes 5-8 minutes for the shallots to caramelize. It actually takes about a half hour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
These green beans were great. I love the hint of garlic that the shallots add. I used french cut green beans and steamed them in a pan, although next time I think I'll use steamer bags in the microwave to save time and dishes. I toasted the almonds and they added great flavor. I think next time I'll use more almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okemos, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I loved this!!! I did cut back on the sugar though to about 1 tbsp. Didn't have slivered almonds but sliced and didn't have red bell pepper but green. A keeper recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Collierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
This is my new favorite way to prepare green beans. These are delicious, and everyone at my dinner party loved them. I only used 1 tablespoon of sugar, other wise I followed the recipe as written. Caramelizing the shallots gives such a wonderful flavor to these green beans. These are going to be on my table for Thanksgiving also. Thanks for sharing this great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
This recipe was easy and turned out GREAT!! It was just as good the next day, too. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This is a wonderful recipe! I didn't add the red pepper and used 2 med sized shallots otherwise followed recipe. Tip: make sure to lower the temp and maybe let the pan cool a little before adding sugar or the onion will over cook and get hard. Did I mention this was a wonderful recipe?? Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
This was absolutely amazing! I didn't use shallots too expensive but chopped white onions. I'm bringing this to my mothers Thanksgiving dinner from now on!! Great flavor even though I was tempted to use garlic but it doesn't need it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweetgirlinsd
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
I normally hate green beans, but my husband likes them, so I decided to try this recipe for something different. They were great (well, for green beans.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
Delicious! I used a mixture of green and yellow beans, but otherwise made as written. This is my new favourite bean recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States