Green Beans with Almonds and Caramelized Shallots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Substituted almonds with walnuts. Same sweet/savory effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
didn't have shallots, but used some diced onions, probably a little less than 1/4 cup. I steamed the beans & bell pepper in the microwave while I blanched the almonds and made the butter sauce. Yum! My 6 month old is all smiles while gnawing on a couple. My older kids are chomping down. They are not usually good eaters, but they got to blanch the almonds and snap the ends off the beans and put them in the steam bag then the microwave, so maybe that has something to do with it too. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stepperanddaniel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Yummy! For my personal taste, I would add more shallot and almond next time... Other than than, it was an absolutely delicious way to enjoy my green beans! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steph84106

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
This recipe was easy and turned out GREAT!! It was just as good the next day, too. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Made this as a side dish for Thanksgiving. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Personal preference: skip the almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This is a wonderful recipe! I didn't add the red pepper and used 2 med sized shallots otherwise followed recipe. Tip: make sure to lower the temp and maybe let the pan cool a little before adding sugar or the onion will over cook and get hard. Did I mention this was a wonderful recipe?? Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
My family couldn't get enough of it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alison
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Getting fresh green beans and steaming them is key to making this a very pretty dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States