Green Beans with Almonds and Caramelized Shallots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
OMG!!! These are the best beans ever! I had some leftovers and even my Vizsla scarfed them down (He usually hates his veggies!!!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
very good !!! very easy, i didnt blanch the almonds i just toasted them due to short amount of time and it turned out great!!! will make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 911chick

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Babylon, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Very happy with this. The significant other isn't a big fan of veggies, but even so these were a hit. They were simple to make and the almond flavor was very good. Simple enough, but looked and tasted like a lot more work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I'm not a big green bean fan but my husband likes them. I made this recipe last night and couldn't get over how delicious it was. I woke up craving them! Really the best green beans I've ever had - bar none!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Normally I am not a fan of sweet dishes, but this intrigued me. Green beans with caramelized shallots and toasted almonds? Check! And for some reason I could imagine a touch of sweetness working in this. I was right! I did like it, although I used much less sugar then the recipe called for, less then half. The recipe amount would make this candy-sweet. I used brown sugar instead of white, and I think that complimented the caramelization. Also I was out of red peppers, so I substituted some jarred roasted red peppers. That worked great. Thanks Jen for expanding my palate and urging me to experiment with new flavor combinations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by awilson614
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Husband says, "You should cook green beans like this every time. These are good." Delicious. I cooked the green beans submerged in water for 10 minutes in the microwave first, but I just got a steam pot so I will be using that from now on. The sugar was a great addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by awilson614

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
It was ok, I thought there was a little too much butter. I probably won't make them again because the end output doesn't justify the amount of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
AWESOME! I used yellow onions instead of shallots and no red pepper. It was soooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
So good! I was even missing some of the ingredients (the bell peppers) and it was amazing. This is definitely my new go to recipe whenever we have green beans on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States