Green Beans in Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
There is an easier way to do this. We Italians place the green beans, water to barely cover, add chopped garlic, chopped onion, olive oil, sauce or tomatoes, chopped parsley, seasoning -- and let simmer uncovered until beans are tender. It's all in one pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patty Cakes
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
I love green beans! I love these even more!! They had a wonderful sweet and sour flavor,with the sugar and vinegar.The cumin really didn't come through too much.I didn't have any fresh garlic so I used garlic powder and let it meld with the oil.It was still really good! Thank you very much!!Patti, These Rocked!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Very tasty recipe. I wish it didn't dirty so many pans. The next time I may try making this differently. Nice flavor combo, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2010
I'm so sorry, but we really didn't like this. I'm not sure what happened, since other reviews seem so positive, but there was just way too much vinegar; it actually made my husband feel ill after eating, and I double-checked the amount again after making the beans and I did put in what was called for. I myself couldn't eat more than two bites because it was so heavy on the vinegar and I just didn't like the flavors. So I don't know how, but I feel like I must have made a mistake somewhere given the numerous positive reviews. Therefore I'm giving this two stars even though what I made turned out almost inedible. I really did want to like this, and again, I'm sorry to give it a low rating. But I guess I eat plenty of things other people find unappealing, so to each his own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TribePride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
I used an extra clove of garlic (I love garlic). These had subtle but wonderful flavor. Couldn't really taste the cumin but I'm sure it still added the flavor. Sprinkled mine with some grated parmesan as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Sounds awesome, going into my recipe box! I do plan however to use olive oil spray rather than olive oil, to cut down on fat and counts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
We Loved These as written!! thanks Patti
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Thank you for posting this recipe, but these beans didn't really have the flavor I was looking for. I followed everything to a "T", but there was something missing and I couldn't put my finger on it. We ate these, but I wont make them again. Hubby and me both agreed this was 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States