Green Beans for a Special Occasion Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
I tried this recipe tonight to serve with a Chicken and Dressing casserole. I thought that the dish needed a little more seasoning. I have a simlar green bean recipe and I used oregano and basil along with the garlic and almonds. I liked the pine nuts, so in the future I would add some oregano and it could easily be a 4 star. Nice presentation. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
This is a great recipe, quick to make and very classy. I used frozen green beans and sauteed them with the garlic and pine nuts instead of boiling first. I thought they had a great, nutty flavor from the garlic, and my father-in-law kept raving about the pine nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brunswick, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
They were great. I added 1/3cup pine nuts and cooked the green beans 7 minutes and then submerged them in cold water to stop the cooking before adding the oil mixture. Seasoned with salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
Very simple way to look like you know what you're doing in the kitchen! Add salt and pepper to taste...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by colorado2rein

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dhahran, Ash Sharqiyah, Saudi Arabia
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2005
Love these. I saute the beans with a touch of olive oil, salt & pepper. Once they are slightly soft, I add a TON of (homemade) roasted garlic & pine nuts. Cook for a few more minutes & serve. They are wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2005
This has become my favorite way to prepare green beans, and had to go into my recipe book. Prepared plain is healthier, so I wouldn't make this all the time because of the added fat, but this way is much more interesting for a 'special occasion', and I just love garlic and pine nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
fast and fabulous....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2005
This was the perfect side dish. Fast, easy, tasty, and everybody loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
Very easy, elegant, and even my picky 6 year old ate every bite! I steamed frozen whole green beans and added them to the garlic/pine nut mixture. The only addition I used was a few dashes of seasoned salt, to add a bit more garlic flavor to the dish. A keeper for our family~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
Pretty good...has a very subtle flavor and is very easy to make. I steamed the beans in a steamer and then just tossed with the heated ingredients. It would probably be good with some crumbled bacon thrown in too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States