Green Beans for a Special Occasion Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
This is a great recipe, quick to make and very classy. I used frozen green beans and sauteed them with the garlic and pine nuts instead of boiling first. I thought they had a great, nutty flavor from the garlic, and my father-in-law kept raving about the pine nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brunswick, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
They were great. I added 1/3cup pine nuts and cooked the green beans 7 minutes and then submerged them in cold water to stop the cooking before adding the oil mixture. Seasoned with salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
Very simple way to look like you know what you're doing in the kitchen! Add salt and pepper to taste...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by colorado2rein

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dhahran, Ash Sharqiyah, Saudi Arabia
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2005
Love these. I saute the beans with a touch of olive oil, salt & pepper. Once they are slightly soft, I add a TON of (homemade) roasted garlic & pine nuts. Cook for a few more minutes & serve. They are wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2005
This has become my favorite way to prepare green beans, and had to go into my recipe book. Prepared plain is healthier, so I wouldn't make this all the time because of the added fat, but this way is much more interesting for a 'special occasion', and I just love garlic and pine nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
fast and fabulous....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2005
This was the perfect side dish. Fast, easy, tasty, and everybody loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
Very easy, elegant, and even my picky 6 year old ate every bite! I steamed frozen whole green beans and added them to the garlic/pine nut mixture. The only addition I used was a few dashes of seasoned salt, to add a bit more garlic flavor to the dish. A keeper for our family~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
Pretty good...has a very subtle flavor and is very easy to make. I steamed the beans in a steamer and then just tossed with the heated ingredients. It would probably be good with some crumbled bacon thrown in too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
This is a simple and tasty recipe. It was my first Thanksgiving cooking and the family loved these. Be sure to make extra because these go fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States