Green Beans for a Special Occasion Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
I'm not sure why this dish is rated so high, because we found it very blah. One Tbsp olive oil is not enough oil for 1 pound of beans. 1 clove of garlic is not enough garlic and the pine nuts (even though chopped) do not cling to the beans...they just sit in the bottom of the pan. Unfortunately, it is not likely that I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
Not quite what I had in mind. I enjoyed it, but it did not go over as well with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
Very good. I used frozen beans, and didn't have pine nuts, so I used toasted almonds instead. Turned out tasty :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
We didn't like these. The beans I had were fresh and delicious however, we weren't crazy about the pinenuts and garlic on the beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Novi, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
Very tasty, easy and elegant way to serve green beans. I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
These were awesome, and so simple to make. I used frozen green beans, two garlic cloves and slivered almonds instead of pine nuts. My husband who hates green beans tried them, and said he loved it and wanted me to make them again!!! Thanks for the great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
These were good, but I thought it needed a little more flavor...I did add a few things. I first sauted a little bacon until the fat was gone with thinly sliced wedges of purple onion, drained the grease. I then added the pine nuts, green beans a little olive oil and a few tablespoons of balsamic vinegar. This was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
I love green beans, and wanted an easy recipe that can be made easily when entertaining. This is very easy and comes out very good. I always make any recipe exactly as written the first time, then I start my experimenting later. I did find that a sprinkling of grated parmesan cheese made this dish really shine. I also tried it with bacon bits, but I liked the cheest better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
Great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
I tried this recipe tonight to serve with a Chicken and Dressing casserole. I thought that the dish needed a little more seasoning. I have a simlar green bean recipe and I used oregano and basil along with the garlic and almonds. I liked the pine nuts, so in the future I would add some oregano and it could easily be a 4 star. Nice presentation. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States