Green Beans for a Special Occasion Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 6, 2008
Frankly, upon first glance, I thought this dish would be bland! But I was sooo wrong! The S&P and fresh garlic flavored the green beans so wonderfully - they were delicious! I used frozen green beans and used slivered toasted almonds because that's what I had on hand, but my, my, my! What a wonderful dish! My husband loved them and so did I! Will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
These are the best!!! I made these for Easter and we couldn't stop eating them. I couldn't believe how easy they were, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
This was quick, easy and "classy", but not very exciting. Still, it tastes good and I guess that's the bottom line. I read someone's review of this recipe indicating that the pine nuts were left in the pot instead of in their stomach so I tried blending them with a hand blender so they would stick to the beans and this worked well. It was like I used bread crumbs. Anyway, it turned out good, try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
Five stars for being simple and delicious. I suggest using butter instead of olive oil-- the pine nuts and garlic clung nicely to the frozen beans as I sauteed them together. After a few minutes to sit, they almost looked breaded! Even the guests who didn't like green beans came back for seconds. In fact, it was as popular as the entree. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
Fast, easy and tastes terrific! My husband loves it when I make these green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
This was a good recipe. It gives a little something different from everyday green beans. I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
Yuk, bitter taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
Great concept. I changed it to fit my tastes though. I added a lot more garlic, and used flavored sliced almonds instead of pine nuts. The beans also have to cook a lot longer than 5 minutes. I would say more like 10-15 minutes. When serving I add salt and pepper to taste and sprinkle with grated parmesan cheese. With my modifications in place this is my new favorite recipe for fresh green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
This was not bad. I was hoping for more flavor. I used slivered almonds because that's what I had on hand. I'll probably keep searching for another recipe using green beans and almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Very tasty and simple to do -- will certainly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States