Green Beans for a Special Occasion Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
This was very good! I added shallots to the garlic as some suggested. Simple and elegant! UPDATE! I made these again for a picky 18 year old and he loved them! Yesterday I used broccoli and cashews and am going to try asparagus and almonds. This is my new "go to" vegetable recipe!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
This is my favorite side dish, and my whole family asks for it on Sunday dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
This was a lovely, simple recipe that looked fancier on the table than the effort required. I did add a sprinkle of fresh lemon juice that went very nicely with the fresh flavors. I think it actually needed that extra little zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Great!! Added Balsamic Vinegar and Bacon too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Really good way to dress up green beans without a lot of fuss & fancy ingredients. I opted to use slivered almonds as suggested by another rater. This is definitely going to be a repeat on my table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
Great and easy recipe. My kids loved it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
I used fresh garlic, I think it would have been "blah" w/o fresh garlic. Chopped the pine nuts for a few seconds in processor. Butter sounds like a good idea to get the nuts to stick on more I will try that next time. Tasty, but I wouldn't say it 'has that amazing something' maybe I'll try adding a touch of balsamic next time ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaJoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Far Rockaway, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
Good simple green bean recipe. Livened them up, and makes a great side dish. Remember to toast the pine nuts, makes a big difference in flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRUNOSBETH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
don't boil beans till done. blanch in boiling water for 1 minute. remove to ice water bath. then saute with pine nuts and garlic and oil. beans will rftemain crisp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
Frankly, upon first glance, I thought this dish would be bland! But I was sooo wrong! The S&P and fresh garlic flavored the green beans so wonderfully - they were delicious! I used frozen green beans and used slivered toasted almonds because that's what I had on hand, but my, my, my! What a wonderful dish! My husband loved them and so did I! Will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States