Green Beans and Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
I've always loved potatoes and green beans together, and the idea of cooking them in thyme, Worcestershire and stock really appealed to me. I used some extra green beans (about another cup), used chicken stock instead of veg broth and regular Worcestershire; otherwise kept to the recipe. The trick to dishes like these is the cooking time. You can't take recipe times as gospel, you have to use your judgement based on the size and type of your potatoes and beans. Don't over cook them. I didn't add my beans until the potatoes had cooked for about 10 minutes. Wonderful side dish, but for this to be 6 servings would be tiny servings. I'd say 4 servings is more realistic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
This was really good. How can you ever go wrong with potatoes and thyme? I used fresh green beans so I steamed them first. i cooked the potatoes in the broth mixture and then added the green beans when the potatoes were done. I used chicken broth instead and found that i didnt need the starch because the starch from the potatoes thickened it quite well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Excellent side dish! My boys that do not like green beans cleaned their plates!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
This was pretty good but it took longer to cook...maybe my potato slices weren't thin enough. The flavors were good and a nice change to my standard green bean uses. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
Just average. I would recommend adding the beans until potatoes are 1/2 way cooked...ended up looking like goulash. Needed more flavor, but considering it's a low cal side dish, was just okay and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
Good and easy. I used 2C. chicken broth instead of the vegetable broth. I threw in some chopped onions. Added extra corn starch to make broth thicker as well as some Mrs. Dash at the end for an extra kick. At 420 calories (by my estimates) and no oil ... this one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
The changes I made to this recipe were that I sauteed the potatoes briefly in butter along with some chopped red onion before adding the broth, seasonings and fresh green beans. I also added some kielbasa chunks to make this a one-skillet meal. Didn't find it necessary to add the cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
It was tasteful side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Good idea... Didn't have everything at home, and was not in the grocery store mood, so changes were made. Turned out great, but wasn't a vegetarian-like dish anymore: - Recipe was doubled: ...Hungry boys will do that to a recipe anyway - No fresh parsley: Used some dried seasoning that had mostly parsley in it... to taste... - No vegetarian Worcestershire: Used the regular stuff - No vegetable broth: Used 1 cup beef broth and 1 cup french onion soup (I think this was key!!) Residents and guests alike raved... there was nothing left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2005
This was very good -- next time, I'll cut back on the thyme as it was a little too much for us... or, maybe I'll substitute garlic (we're garlic fanatics!). Great side dish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States