Green Beans and Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2002
The staff at Allrecipes.com has revised the recipe to reflect the changes as suggested by the submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2002
Note from the recipe author -- There is a typo in the recipe. It should be 1/4tsp of pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
This was really good. How can you ever go wrong with potatoes and thyme? I used fresh green beans so I steamed them first. i cooked the potatoes in the broth mixture and then added the green beans when the potatoes were done. I used chicken broth instead and found that i didnt need the starch because the starch from the potatoes thickened it quite well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2001
This recipe was easy and I had all the ingredients in the house. It cooked well and even held for a little while when my husband was late. My 16 month old liked it too! It was soft but had chunks. The thyme was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
The changes I made to this recipe were that I sauteed the potatoes briefly in butter along with some chopped red onion before adding the broth, seasonings and fresh green beans. I also added some kielbasa chunks to make this a one-skillet meal. Didn't find it necessary to add the cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
Just average. I would recommend adding the beans until potatoes are 1/2 way cooked...ended up looking like goulash. Needed more flavor, but considering it's a low cal side dish, was just okay and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2004
Made this last night and we LOVED it!! What a great, low fat, low calorie side dish for those of us Weight Watchers. Very filling also. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2002
way too much pepper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Good idea... Didn't have everything at home, and was not in the grocery store mood, so changes were made. Turned out great, but wasn't a vegetarian-like dish anymore: - Recipe was doubled: ...Hungry boys will do that to a recipe anyway - No fresh parsley: Used some dried seasoning that had mostly parsley in it... to taste... - No vegetarian Worcestershire: Used the regular stuff - No vegetable broth: Used 1 cup beef broth and 1 cup french onion soup (I think this was key!!) Residents and guests alike raved... there was nothing left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2001
I personally thought it wasn't good at all, and I just put half the pepper it called for and it was WAY too much. Maybe I made it wrong, but I didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Almost Fat-Free Green Onion Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad that’s almost entirely fat-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States