Green Beans With a Twist Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2002
No one in my family cares for vegetables so when I came across a recipe for cold green beans, I had to try it. Follow the recipe (I omit the hard boiled egg)and be sure to measure the ingredients (I've done it both ways and there was a huge difference in flavor). Everyone, including my preschoolers and 1 year old ask for second helpings of this dish - it's become a family favorite! By the way, frozen beans don't yield the same results - canned ones are best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2001
I served it hot, it is a nice dish to play around with. I dont think I will make it again. But I would recomend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAX8620

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2005
Last summer we were tired of the usual salads so I went on a hunt for something different. Well, this recipe has become a favorite and we even enjoyed it throughout the rest of the year. Two things I learned through experimentation: 1 - I use less mayonaise than the recipe calls for. 2 - Try this recipe with steamed fresh green bean - awsome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
Good & easy. I prefer less mayonnaise, steamed green beans & added bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2004
The only thing I changed was to use Miracle Whip in place of the mayo. Came out superb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ute Park, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Swansboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
Great hot weather green bean "salad". Use less Mayo, original recipe makes too "white" and oily. This was delicious with ham!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2004
I thought it was good, but would add bacon bits the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2004
I saw this recipe and tried it because my boyfriend loves horseradish sauce and i was bored with plain old vegetables. I left out lemon juice though. And used french style green beans. It was different but good. Next time though, I may use less mayo and more horseradish sauce. I think I would try this recipe again. We enjoyed it. If you are looking for something different, this is it! Give it a try....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2004
This was a nice change, just enough zing. It's just right when I'm looking for an extra side dish or something unusual.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
This is a great summer recipe! I made this on Father's Day and everyone loved. I did use less mayo as suggested and it was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palatine, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States