Green Beans With Walnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
Tina, my family loved this recipe! So I didn't have to dirty another pan, I toasted my walnuts in a skillet and then added the other ingredients. As usual, I threw in onion and garlic powder and only used one TBL. of butter. I would make this side for company any day. Thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2006
I had to modify a bit - I used all butter as I didn't have any walnut oil. Turned out fine, though. Nice change from steamed green beans, although not as healthy with all the butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunFlower
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
Good but not great. As some other reviewers said, it misses something. Maybe a little garlic would have made this a real keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
Used olive oil and garlic, as suggested, and turned out great! Walnuts complemented the beans wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Akai57

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
This is a great combo.. I used canned beans (which I never like) and it was a great compliment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yucaipa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
We thought this recipe was okay, but I wouldn't call it exceptional. The walnut oil was an expensive ingredient, but didn't seem to add that much extra flavor. I'll probably try the recipe again, though (since I have more walnut oil), but next time I'll add the chopped garlic suggested by the other posters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
Pretty good. I followed the advice of others and added a clove of garlic and finely chopped the walnuts. I din't have any walnut oil, and couldn't find it all Wal-Mart so I drizzled the walnuts with olive oil before I toasted them and used that oil with half the butter called for. Also there was entirely too much of the walnuts after they were finely chopped. My husband loved them so I will fix them again without as many walnuts and try to find walnut oil because that may be the key to take it from good to fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
This dish was 'okay'. It went well enough for our Christmas dinner... but I dont know. It was missing something. I was expecting more of a punch I suppose... but to me, it was just okay. I wouldnt go out of my way to make this one again... but I may toss some walnuts in with my green beans for the additional color and texture, rather than leaving them plain janed. :) I think maybe next time I would try adding garlic, as the others have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
The walnuts really added great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
Everyone loved this at Thanksgiving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Oak Hill, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States