Green Bean and Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I love this. By mid-summer I was tired of traditional potato salads and this really hit the spot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ModernSteph
Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
If my husband loved it, it rates a five star. Period. ("Food snob.") My kids and I really liked it, too. A few changes that I don't think really made a difference on my rating: served cold rather than warm/hot ("potato salad" should be cold!); used raw beans instead of steamed (for no reason other than it seemed like it would work just as well). The main change: I ran out of balsamic and substituted red wine vinegar. It was great this way - I'm convinced it will be even better with balsamic. Definitely will make again and again. Served with "Crispy Fried Fish" and "Wisconsin Native's Beer Cheese Soup" - both from this site. (Although, I give the soup a lower rating.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Tasty. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
Not bad, a little too much vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
I made this as directed and it was pretty good! A nice change from regular potato salad with mayo. I liked the taste better when it was warm, so I think I'd serve it that way next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
This salad is so stinkin good. I doubled the potatoes because I had a 3 lb. bag of them, and the dressing was still plenty. I also added more onion, cuz we love it. Thanks for the lovely & different recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durant, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
Fairly tasty; gets points for healthy ingredients. However, 1/4 cup of balsamic vinegar is way too much. Cut back to 2 Tbsp. or even less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
I loved this salad, it was perfect for a hot summer day. The dressing is fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brookland, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
Very good and something different! It did have a strong balsamic vinegar taste but I didn't mind it. Tasted even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
The flavor of the mustard seems out of character. The next time I make this I will delete it. It might be better prepared with a german potato salad dressing and served warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Almost Fat-Free Green Onion Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad that’s almost entirely fat-free.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States