Green Bean and Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
This is a killer salad! Readers who thought this was bland need to remember that you need to heavily salt the potatoes and green beans separately when they cook. Also, salt the ice bath for the beans. I used the baby potatoes and steamed them as well as the beans. Flavor is not lost in the water. I added the cherry tomatoes and black olives which made a pretty presentation. As far as the dressing, I did cut back on the oil and only added a little at a time so it's not swimming in the dressing. Make a day ahead, refrigerate and when ready to serve remove from frig and let it come to room temp. for several hours. Delicious! Potatoes and pasta are the two things that when I make them I do heavily salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
best served warm or room temperature the dressing ( for me) tends to get too gloppy after its been in the fridge. if I made this for a party I would use white wine vinegar and it wouldn't turn the potatoes brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
I just loved this and enjoyed every bite of it! I boiled the potatoes for 10 minutes, added the beans, then let it boil another 5 minutes - both the potatoes and the beans were perfectly cooked and retained their vibrant colors. I don't much care for balsamic vinegar so I used white wine vinegar in its place. I also used green onion rather than red as I like its mild, fresh flavor. I added the dressing while the potatoes were still warm and they just soaked it right up. And, reminiscent of a dish I enjoy in Rome, I added sauteed shrimp (there they also add calamari and tomatoes). I served this at room temperature along with "Stuffed Mushrooms with Spinach," also from this site, to accompany our Stone Crab Claws feast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Pretty good, a little soupy. The dressing was a little too acidic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Not too good. Too much vinegar. Kids didn't like the flavor, it was ok with me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
very good, something different. i overcooked the potatoes a little, but it was still very good. and i also used only 2/3-3/4 of the dressing and it was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by janet
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
LOVED this! The only major change I made was to cut the olive oil in half (seemed to solve the "too much sauce" problem other users had), and it was delightfully acidic. Subbed yellow onion (didn't have red) and soy sauce for the worcestershire sauce... perfect summertime salad! Best overnight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
This is a great salad for a summer meal. In a pinch, you can use frozen green beans and add them to the boiling potatoes for just a minute to thaw them out, then drain both veggies and continue on with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J.G.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
Delicious and oh so easy! The flavor from the seasonings is sooooooo good! This is a keeper! Thank-you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by camelia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Delicious! Will definitely make again. Made exactly as instructed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Almost Fat-Free Green Onion Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad that’s almost entirely fat-free.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States