Green Bean and Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
I suggest cutting the balsamic by a third or half. I enjoyed but did find the taste a tad sharp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
I made it for lunch yesterday and I served with shrimp. My husband and I love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
This is a killer salad! Readers who thought this was bland need to remember that you need to heavily salt the potatoes and green beans separately when they cook. Also, salt the ice bath for the beans. I used the baby potatoes and steamed them as well as the beans. Flavor is not lost in the water. I added the cherry tomatoes and black olives which made a pretty presentation. As far as the dressing, I did cut back on the oil and only added a little at a time so it's not swimming in the dressing. Make a day ahead, refrigerate and when ready to serve remove from frig and let it come to room temp. for several hours. Delicious! Potatoes and pasta are the two things that when I make them I do heavily salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
best served warm or room temperature the dressing ( for me) tends to get too gloppy after its been in the fridge. if I made this for a party I would use white wine vinegar and it wouldn't turn the potatoes brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
I'd like to give credit where credit is due. The original version of this recipe came from Bon Apetit in 1984, and quickly became one of my go-to recipes for a delicious and different potato salad. What will make this 5 stars is to revisit the original recipe, by using fresh Haricots Verts (French green beans). They have a lovely crisp-tender texture, and a wonderful flavor that is different from the standard green bean. Also, cut potatoes in quarters first, then steam them until tender, then cool. Add the Haricots Verts to a large pot of boiling salted water, and boil approx. 5 minutes, until just crisp-tender, drain, and add them to a bowl of ice water to cool and maintain crisp-tender texture. Cut beans in half. Combine beans, potatoes, onion, basil. Pour dressing over, then salt and pepper to taste. Can be prepared 4 hrs. ahead. Cover and store at room temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
I just loved this and enjoyed every bite of it! I boiled the potatoes for 10 minutes, added the beans, then let it boil another 5 minutes - both the potatoes and the beans were perfectly cooked and retained their vibrant colors. I don't much care for balsamic vinegar so I used white wine vinegar in its place. I also used green onion rather than red as I like its mild, fresh flavor. I added the dressing while the potatoes were still warm and they just soaked it right up. And, reminiscent of a dish I enjoy in Rome, I added sauteed shrimp (there they also add calamari and tomatoes). I served this at room temperature along with "Stuffed Mushrooms with Spinach," also from this site, to accompany our Stone Crab Claws feast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Pretty good, a little soupy. The dressing was a little too acidic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Not too good. Too much vinegar. Kids didn't like the flavor, it was ok with me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
very good, something different. i overcooked the potatoes a little, but it was still very good. and i also used only 2/3-3/4 of the dressing and it was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by janet
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
LOVED this! The only major change I made was to cut the olive oil in half (seemed to solve the "too much sauce" problem other users had), and it was delightfully acidic. Subbed yellow onion (didn't have red) and soy sauce for the worcestershire sauce... perfect summertime salad! Best overnight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Almost Fat-Free Green Onion Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad that’s almost entirely fat-free.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States