Green Bean and Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
Hmmm - I really wasn't as in love with this as most other people! We liked it, but it was nothing amazing. I used fresh green beans and potatoes, so I boiled them for about 10 minutes before putting them in the oven. I used a 1lb of beans and 2 potatoes. Then I baked it for 15 more minutes. A whole pound of cheese is 4 cups, which is really a ton! I used what I had left, which was about 1 1/2 cups. It could have used another 1/2 cup but I can't imagine 4 entire cups on here! I do think I'll make this again, trying it with more cheese and canned beans. Maybe it makes a difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
This was an instant hit with my family, from kids to grandparents! Try adding a can of diced green chiles to jazz it up just a bit, and use Healthy Request soup to make it a little healthier. I was leery about using canned diced potatoes but they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
I gave it a 4 because I had to modify it & it turned out great with the changes. I used fresh potatoes, that first I boiled till half done. I a 1/2 lb of 2% cheddar, the Healthy Request Crm of Chix soup and added salt, pepper, garlic & some cayenne pepper to spice it up a bit. the way the recipe is written, looks very bland, very heavy, very cheesy (thus greasy)....seemed like no flavors would come through with all the heaviness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
I put a layer of bread crumbs on top and it really added to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Roxana, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
This is a very easy and quick way to make something different with your veggies. I will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
Good and simple. I used fresh potatoes. It turned out a little runny, so I could have used more potatoes. It is definately something you can just throw together. My picky 2 year old even liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommyx26

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
Wonderful side dish! Made this for Thanksgiving dinner and it was especially a hit with the kids. Nothing was left in the dish before the night was over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xeracia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Van Buren, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
My fiance really liked this recipe. We are vegetarians so I substituted with cream of mushroom soup. The first time I made it I only used half the cheese and that was great. The second time I used the full amount, but I thought it turned out too cheesy. Next time I'll stick with 1/2 pound of colby. Other than that it makes a great alternative to the usual green bean casserole for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
Extremely disappointing. I had to double my cooking time to get my fresh pototoes the consistency I wanted. The cream of chicken was very overpowering and it was way too cheesy/greasy. I prefer lighter casseroles and this one definitely sits heavy. I will not make this again. I gave it two stars instead of one because my boyfriend thought it edible (where as I did not).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yeongmee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
It really did taste excellent, but it was too greasy and upset my stomach afterwards. I think next time I'll try half the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Whiteland, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States