Green Bean and Portobello Mushroom Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
I tried this out for Thanksgiving since I was very burnt out on regular green bean casserole. This turned out really well. I left out the almonds (not a fan) and used regular cream of mushroom soup instead of the soup with roasted garlic. That was a mistake on my part, though and I'll use the correct soup next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
my wife loved it(the almonds), for me just ok. alot of work.tasted better like most cassiroles after a couple of days in the fridge. still hanging around 4 days after cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Culpeper, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
I would give this a 3, but I didn't follow it exactly. I made my own cream of mushroom soup, which normally helps a recipe, and I used romano instead of cheddar b/c I was out. It was OK, it just wasn't exciting at all...kind of bland, yet the soup tsted great on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
I usually never rate a recipe that I've altered, but since I'm giving it 5 stars, I will. It drives me crazy when someone will give a recipe a low rating and then go on to say they changed the recipe umpteen different ways--sheesh! Anyway, the only changes I made to this one was to use steamed fresh green beans, lightly toasted pecans instead of almonds and skip the last step (baking and cheese). It came out really "gourmet-y" and was very pretty because the beans were so bright. I also didn't use the garlic cream of mushroom soup because they were sold out so I just doubled up on the fresh garlic. This is a great recipe I will use again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
I used frozen Campbell's Select 'Cream of Portobello' soup with a touch of heavy cream. Tasted great, the Green bean casserole lovers in my family loved the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
This was much better than the traditional casserole that I usually make. This one is a keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
Got lots of compliments on this at tonight's Thanksgiving dinner. It was easy to prepare, although start in a large stock pot so that you don't waste extra dishes in the long run. I did without the olive oil as there was plenty of bacon grease left to work with. My mushroom soup also didn't have garlic in it, but no one was the wiser. :) I have been requested to make this again for future events, so you should try it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I was really disappointed with this recipe, it was just ok. I didn't think it was that much better than the "original" green bean recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I felt it had just a little to much Garlic with the Mushroom Soup with Garlic, so the next time I make it I will just use 2 cloves of Garlic. But I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hazel Park, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hot Springs Village, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
A nice change from the usual. I used canned green beans, and used only 1'2 the baby bellos..was perfect and the almonds gave a nice crunch. I made it the night before, set it out for an hour then baked as usual. I also used regular cream of mushroom, not wanting the strong garlic flavor. Would make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States