Green Bean and Portobello Mushroom Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
Excellent recipe!!! What a great change from the same old(but still great)green bean casserole. I hestitated trying a new and different-sounding recipe (especially with company for Thanksgiving dinner!) But I'm glad I did, it was a great success with everyone. I did as suggested by another reviewer and substituted the canned french-fried onions in place of the cheese. I'd definitely recommend trying this yummy recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
YUM - it goes really well with the traditional Thanksgiving meal. I made the recipe for Thanksgiving and it disappeared so fast that I had to make a second double batch so we could have more leftovers! Everyone liked the crunchy texture that the almonds gave. I substituted frozen cut green beans and used regular cream of mushroom soup adding a little extra chopped garlic. The second time I didn't have baby portabello mushrooms so I used button mushrooms; it wasn't as good with the button mushrooms. Next time I'll try french cut green beans (probably frozen) and definitely use baby portabellos/crimini mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Superior, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
All the ingredients sounded SO yummy, and I LOVE green bean casserole, so I'm not sure what I did wrong with this. I made it for Thanksgiving dinner and everyone politely ate it, but it didn't go over too well as a whole. I had to leave out the almonds (everyone vetoed them), so maybe that makes a difference? I hate being negative, but I was just really disappointed with this one :(. I loved the mushrooms and onions in it though, so I think I may try it again using regular Cream of Mushroom soup instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
The first thing you should know is that my husband absolutely loathes the traditional Green Bean Casserole. We NEVER, EVER have it on any holiday. This was an experiment for us. I used only 6 ounces of baby bellas in this recipe and used the plain fat-free cream of mushroom soup, and pressed in one or two cloves of fresh garlic. I also used frozen beans (a one-pound sack, and I cooked them before adding them) instead of the canned. What we ended up with was a crunchy, flavorful, colorful, interesting and delicious dish WHICH, by the way, my husband had SECONDS of! The leftovers were even tastier the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jana Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boone, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
Too much garlic flavor - too many mushrooms - the almonds did nothing for this. I'm sorry to be so critical, but I just didn't like it, nor did anyone else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
This is the best green bean casserole recipe I've ever prepared. it is now our family favorite, and the guys just won't let me get out of making it for thanksgiving every year!...we love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
I'd give it 3 1/2 stars if I could. It wasn't that I didn't like this dish - I did. I guess it just wasn't suited to my taste. I love all of the ingredients that was in it, so I thought I'd love the dish as well. I liked it ok, but not enough to make it again. (Well, it's highly doubtful.) I prepared it exactly according to the directions with one exception - I couldn't find baby portobello mushrooms in my grocery store, so I used regular portobellos and just chopped them up smaller. My boyfriend also said it was "Ok", but that he preferred the traditional green bean casserole. I think I agree. But, I wanted to try something different, and this definately was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
Despite switching out the cheddar for deep fried onions, I give this recipe a perfect rating! The taste, the presentation, the ease and make-ahead ability deserve nothing less! I've been ill and it was the first dish I've made in months for the big Easter dinner (45+ people) and it was more than a hit! I loved the mushroom sauce so much before adding the green beans I turned around and made it a second time as chunky soup! The family devoured it! I've since made it again with whole & powdered garlic, regular mushroom soup and plain mushrooms... again a hit with everyone, even added left over rice for a twist the next day! Thanx a million for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenora, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
First made this last Thanksgiving at a pot luck dinner I went to and it was a raving success! Everyone wanted the recipe! Very rich and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2005
This recipe really just gave my old fresh green beans a kick. I didn't add the cream of mush or the cheese because I like neither. I used fresh green beans and cooked them in a bit of water with the bacon, garlic, onion, and pepper on the bottom of the pan until right before the green beans were edible. I then added the mushrooms. By the time the mushrooms were done the beans were, too. It cut down on the fat and salt intake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States