Green Bean and Portobello Mushroom Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
Delicious! I will never make the traditional casserole again. This was sooooo much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2004
This casserole tastes great!! A hit with my family. The almonds really add some texture...and portabellas....can't go wrong there! Easy and yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
We were out of mushrooms, but had the mushroom soup that was jus enough mushroom to keep the flavor. The little crunch was the conversation piece. It went fast. I'm making more for the homeless christmas dinner next week. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2004
I made this for Eatser and it was a hit with the family. I used 1 1/2 lbs of fresh green beans, cooked and cut in half (fresh is so much better than canned green beans). Used a can of cream of muchroom soup (that's what I had on hand). Did not use all of the 1/4 cup of oil it called for. I toasted the almonds in a non stick pan until they were light brown in color (not burned) and used fried onions(in the can) for the top, not the cheese. Very tasety, would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
Despite switching out the cheddar for deep fried onions, I give this recipe a perfect rating! The taste, the presentation, the ease and make-ahead ability deserve nothing less! I've been ill and it was the first dish I've made in months for the big Easter dinner (45+ people) and it was more than a hit! I loved the mushroom sauce so much before adding the green beans I turned around and made it a second time as chunky soup! The family devoured it! I've since made it again with whole & powdered garlic, regular mushroom soup and plain mushrooms... again a hit with everyone, even added left over rice for a twist the next day! Thanx a million for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenora, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
I made this for Thanksgiving, except I added fried onions on top. I also mixed the cheese in with the rest of the ingredients and let it melt before putting it in the oven instead of topping the casserole with cheese. It was very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
This was a totally awesome recipe! I made it with Christmas dinner and everyone loved it. Lots of ingredients, but they tasted great together. Just for experimentation purposes, I put french fried onions on half of it and it turned out well. I've already given out this recipe 4 times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2005
This recipe really just gave my old fresh green beans a kick. I didn't add the cream of mush or the cheese because I like neither. I used fresh green beans and cooked them in a bit of water with the bacon, garlic, onion, and pepper on the bottom of the pan until right before the green beans were edible. I then added the mushrooms. By the time the mushrooms were done the beans were, too. It cut down on the fat and salt intake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2004
I made this for Easter as an alternative to the traditional Green Been Casserole, and the entire family (all 19 of them) loved it. Everyone wants the recipe. A seasoned cheif may only take fifteen minutes of prep time for this recipe, but as an amature, it took me an hour of prep before I could put the casserole in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
First made this last Thanksgiving at a pot luck dinner I went to and it was a raving success! Everyone wanted the recipe! Very rich and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States