Green Bean and Portobello Mushroom Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This is the best green bean casserole I've had! I'm surprised it doesn't have five stars. I love the addition of the almonds, which gives it a great texture. I'm a vegetarian, so I don't add the bacon, but when I made it for my dad and I, I crumbled 3-4 cooked pieces into just his bowl and he kept "mmm"ing and saying how "bacony" it was. I've never added the cheese on top, because I like it so much without it, and I usually just use regular canned mushrooms, not Portobello. I also just use regular pepper. My tips: I buy almonds in the bulk section at my local store and dry roast them in a pan on low-medium, stirring semi-frequently, and they taste great in the casserole, as do the sugary, salted slivered ones you buy for snacking (Sunkist?). Also, get all of the water out of your green beans and mushrooms! I grab a small handful - less than half a can - and squeeze it as hard as I can, move it around in my hand, and repeat for about a full minute, letting the juice leave through my fingers. Otherwise the casserole, like any other, can get runny. Second, the kind of almonds and cream of mushroom soup you use seems to make the most difference in the taste (more than the green beans and mushrooms). I don't normally like Campbell's soup, and I hate to use brand names in my review, but so far I've found theirs to be the best. I don't find the amount to be 10 servings. I normally double it for just my dad and I to eat and have a good amount of leftovers with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Fantastic version of an old standby. I too used only half the mushrooms called for in the recipe, and omitted the nuts, but it was full of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by busymommy
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
This is super yummy. I didn't even know about the cream of mushroom with roasted garlic until this recipe. I consider this a must have!!!! It has a much richer flavor than the regular. For those who aren't crazy about mushrooms I would cut the amt in half. (it's pretty mushroomy!!) The texture from all the goodies was wonderful. I will use this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by busymommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
ABSOLUTELY wonderful recipe! I was surprised by how good green beans could taste. I made no alterations to this recipe, as it was perfect as is. Looks like I've found my Thanksgiving recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrissyCK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
Very, very yummy! The only thing I changed was, I look out the almonds and put in small, potato slices. I tried it with the almonds the first time I made it, but it was too crunchy. Other than that, the most wonderful green bean casserole ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
i made this recipe for a family gathering of picky eaters. it was a hit! however when i was making it, i found the sauce to be a little thick so i added some white wine to thin it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
I made this for Christmas dinner and it was a huge hit. I used fresh green beans rather than canned. I cut them and boiled them for about 10 minutes before preparing the rest. I followed the recipe exactly how it was written other than that. Thanks for this great twist on my husband's favorite holiday dish. We will certainly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kjdavis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Not as good as I hoped. I don't think the flavors meshed well together for me. Was not a hit at my christmas dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
This was AMAZING!! The flavors were so well balanced and the different textures were wonderful. I will definately be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elyria, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sheldon, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
My family loved this casserole. The sliced almonds add a nice crunch. The first time I made it, it was a little salty for my taste. The second time, I cut back on salt. Yummy....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Pole, Alaska, USA
Living In: Chugiak, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States