Green Bean and Portobello Mushroom Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 21, 2009
This vaguely resembled the traditional Thanksgiving dish, but was so different. The poster is correct - crazy mix of textures and flavors abound this casserole. I used less mushrooms, premade bacon (just had to heat it up), and regular cream of mushroom. It was so flavorful and filling. Don't be afraid to try this when it's not the holiday season as this would be a fab side for any heavy meat dish. (We had it with Amazing Slow Cooker Pork Tenderloin.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crandall, Texas, USA
Living In: Rockwall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
Very flavorful! Was a bit salty but that was probably because I subbed french onions for the cheese. Will make again, perhaps without the seasoned salt. Thanks for a great recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, New York, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
Racing home from church on Easter Sunday, we had to "heat and run" to get to Grandma's house for dinner--thus had to modify this recipe--5+ stars nonetheless. Having forgotten fresh mushrooms, used canned; used real bacon bits instead of frying; and mixed cheese in with the rest instead of using as topping at the end (battle for oven time). Next time I'll try frozen or fresh green beans (hate mushy veggies) but regardless, the combination of the nutty crunch and the spices brought this recipe rave reviews, from fussy uncles to testy teens...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dreadpiraterosato

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
excellent! I did not use near the amount of mushrooms called for (and i love mushrooms) great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Zeeland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
SUPER! Everyone loved this dish at Christmas dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shiocton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Add onion strings on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Pahrump, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Excellent! I used regular (on sale) mushrooms, and omitted the almonds. I substituted the cheddar cheese for french fried onions also, and I didn't have any seasoned salt so I used celery salt, onion powder, garlic powder, crushed thyme and dried parsley flakes. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Huntmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Perry, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
Great recipe! I've made it 3 times already and every time I bring it to a potluck someone asks "who made this" and then compliments me :) Due to religious dietary restrictions, I make it with turkey bacon and it tastes great! A good, sharp cheddar is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Loved this recipe....Didn't know if I was supposed to drain the bacon juice or not so I kept half of it, it made it a bit greasy but flavorfull. I added fried onions which was a big hit. Next time I will add more green beans, the mushrooms were a bit overpowering and I'm a BIG mushroom fan. My boyfriend and I are also big cheese lovers so i added an extra cup of cheese which made it heavenly. Will definatly use this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Whole family loved this including my husband that doesnt like green bean anything. Kind of turned out an ugly color though, but easily covered with cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murray, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Kirksey, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States