Green Bean and Portobello Mushroom Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
This was very good. Followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
This is an awesome take on classic (sometimes bland) green bean casserole! Just Amazing! It could be a little garlic-y for some. If you don't love garlic, use traditional cream of mushroom soup, and maybe cut down to two cloves of garlic. The almonds aren't a must.. its just as great without them. This is so easy, I make it often, not just on holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
The best green bean casserole ever my family loved it !!!!!! the next time i will double the recipe the kids were not to happy that there were no leftovers to take home. I toasted sesame,pumpkin,sunflower and almond seeds and added more garlic, this is going on our table for all to enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Made this recipe for 30 people thank's to all recipe's change servings option it turned out perfect. I am cooking it again tonight with the regular servings and can't wait to try it again. I highly recommend it as a little different version of a favorite casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Everyone at Christmas dinner loved this green bean casserole! I, personally, love Allrecipes.com. You all have made me look like a real cook so many times! Whenever I need a recipe for any occasion, Allrecipes is there! Have a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year! See you in 2013, if not sooner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
What a hit at the Thanksgiving dinner. No leftovers. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Goshen, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
I have been making this recipe for years - minus the almonds! I absolutely love the twist on a boring tradition - and the family does to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Thought it was very good. I used turkey bacon, and did take the suggestion of mixing in the shredded cheddar the mixture and then adding french fried onions on top. I added a spoonful of sour cream b/c the cheese thickened it up a bit. The bacon and portobellos gave depth to the plain ole green bean casserole recipe. The pan was empty and I was told this needs to be my official Christmas vegetable, so I think its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I was looking for a recipe for a from scratch green bean casserole. I found this with the added extra ingredients and really liked it. It still has the characteristic green brean casserole flavor, but seems a little more special with the additions. I realized I bought only 8oz of mushrooms instead of the 1 lb, so I also cut the amount of almonds in half to. For the bacon I just used pre-cooked thick cut bacon and heated it in the pan. The added garlic flavor and toppings blended together well. The only downside it is a kind of salty, but what casserole or dish with canned soup isn't. I will be adding it to my personal recipe box for another holiday side dish. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Used instead 1/4 cup finely grated red onion and 1 chopped tomato and NO cream of soup. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States