Green Bean and Mushroom Medley Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
This recipe catches you by surprise. I didn't think this would be anything more than just regular string beans, but it really was a lot more than that, it was superb! :) The mushrooms are really important in order to get the full taste of this so don't forget them. I used baby portobello. The carrots add to the taste and make the dish look very appetizing because of the color contrast. I steamed the carrots and beans instead of boiling. If you prefer to do it this way as well, then I would suggest to make sure either a) the carrots are a cut little ticker than the beans before steaming all at once, or b) cutting the carrots the same thickness as the beans, but start steaming the beans for 3 minutes first before adding the carrots as the two vegetables won't steam at the same rate. It's good to have the same texture for both rather than one softer than the other. Also, as per another review I added 1 tsp of rosemary and 1 tsp thyme to the mix and everything came out great. Even a little more of the sesame seeds doesn't hurt. I had no issues with the salt content. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
254 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Krakow, Lesser Poland, Poland
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
Very good base recipe. Changes I made: -Cooked mushrooms in olive oil and minced garlic until slightly tender -Steam the green beans and carrots to firmness of liking. -Added onions to green beans and carrots to steam for 2-3 minutes to firmness of liking. -Stir veggie mixture with mushrooms, add 2 dashes of seasoning salt, garlic salt, rosemary, and thyme -Cook 1-2 additional minutes to warm if necessary Key is to keep an eye on the steamed veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
189 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2002
This is a wonderful dish! I think the carrots are a lovely addition. I did however drastically cut the salt by using only the seasoning salt, plain garlic powder, and no plain salt. A beautiful side dish with a very simple preparation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2002
This dish really melted in my mouth. My substitutions: a dash of olive oil instead of the butter, 1 lb. each of mushrooms and green beans (instead of 1/2 lb. each), and Mrs. Dash instead of seasoned salt. I can't get over how good this is. Now I make it all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
This turned out very good. I would not recommend making it as part of a large, multi-dish dinner though because it took a while to prepare and I had to use several dishes while preparing it. The taste was very good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2001
My husband would give this recipe 10 stars if he could. He requested this two days in a row. I too enjoyed this very much, though my two girls...well you know how kids and veggies can be! I did make some changes to the seasoning portion since like the 1st reviewer said, there is quite a bit of salt called for. I just added 1 1/2 teaspoon of seasoning salt, 1/4 teaspoon of pepper, and added chopped fresh garlic (two cloves) along with the onion/mushroom mixture. This is a great change from plain ordinary vegetables, and I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEINGRAMS4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This was just average and I'm glad I only eyeballed ingredients rather than depending on measurements. But if prepared as written there is too much onion for the amount of green beans and a real overload of salt, beyond what I think anyone would think tasted good, and that is reason enough to give this recipe two stars. I've also discovered that carrots mixed in with green beans is not a tasty combination for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
Too much salt. Used seasoned salt, substituted garlic powder and left out the regular salt. Also sprinkled on 2 tbsp parmesan cheese just before serving and everyone loved them, even the veggie haters. Thanks for a great base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICKE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walkerton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 22, 2002
This recipe has fabulous flavor! And so easy to make. My husband just loved this one. I will make this over and over. I used garlic instead of garlic salt, and will cut down on the plain salt next time, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
Too many onions and too few green beans. I reccommend only using 1/4 of a large onion or 1/2 of a small onion and a whole pound of green beans to make 6 servings. Also, reduce butter to only 2-3 tablespoons and watch green beans for over cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 382) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States