Green Bean and Mushroom Medley Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Very good flavor but way too much salt....three forms of it. I eliminated the plain salt and it was plenty salty.a 5 without the third salt. On the butter front: although it tasted good as is...there is a lot of butter on the veggies. I think next time I make it I will cut down on the butter or make it with half olive oil to make them a bit more healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Really enjoyed this recipe, but I did make one change. Instead of 1/4 cup of butter I substituted 1 tbsp of olive oil and a splash of fat free chicken stock to sautee the veggies. Way less fat and calories, but still a flavorful dish. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Will make again! Was great with the Fish Fillets Italiano!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XENA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waterville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
I only write reviews when a dish really wows me, and boy, was this good! I recently decided I have to get more veggies in my diet. Before I would seriously only eat maybe 4 or 5 servings of vegetables a month-not a big fan of the veggies. But since I don't want cancer by the time I'm 40, I've decided to totally change my eating habits. This is one of the first dishes I'm trying in my new food life and it was delicious! I will definitely be making this on a regular basis. The changes I made (and they're small) were using 3 carrots, 1/2 an onion (only b/c my family doesn't like them), mincing a few cloves of garlic into the dish and omiting the garlic salt and using Jane's Crazy Mixed Up Salt in place of the seasoned salt, oh, and reg pepper. This is an amazing side dish-you get 4 veggies in one dish and a little bit of garlic (I try to eat garlic several times a week) and it tastes great! So if you're like me, not big on veggies, try this dish, it will be on reg rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ayoung

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hyattsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Kensington, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I brought this to Easter lunch as an alternative to the usual casserole, and it was a hit! I doubled the recipe except for the onion and used olive oil instead of butter. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
My wife who doesn't like green beans actually went for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Good recipe tho I added minced garlic in when I was frying the mushrooms ... its simple yet ohh sho good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Couldn't quite give 5 stars for recipe as is. I did really enjoy the chosen veggies together. The seasoning just wasn't quite right. Will play more with it next time and also try recommendations from other reviews. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northampton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Naugatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
Great recipe. I doubled the green beans and trippled the carrots. Also, I sliced the cloves of one garlic bulb (we LOVE garlic) and sauteed with the onion and mushrooms. This is one of my son's favorite sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STLINARES1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
This was good but did not have that wow factor. I skipped the plain salt-would have been WAAAY too salty with all those salts! It was missing something though. Next time I would also skip the seasoning salt and add some nice herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 379) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States