Green Bean and Mushroom Medley Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I'm giving this 4 stars but it's really not a fair review. We're on a restricted diet so I didn't use the butter but I bet if I had this would have been a 5+ star recipe. Instead I used a little grapeseed oil but followed the rest of the recipe. Took suggestion of other reviewers and steamed the green beans and carrots separately before adding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dani
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Thank you for a good recipe. We added broccoli and leaks (you gotta wash them thoroughly by the way, because of the sand hiding in there, unless you want a medley crunch...) and we also used it in a soup the day after. Mmm tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Cut back on the salt in this and you have a winner!! I had time to fuss with this, so I cooked all my veggies separately. That way I could get them perfectly crisp tender and maintain their vibrant colors. I used the seasoned salt and the garlic salt, but didn’t use the regular salt. I assembled this early in the afternoon, covered and refrigerated. Then reheated it in the microwave just before serving. I’ll make this one again – a beautiful combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This is an excellent vegetable dish! I cooked it as a side dish for a dinner get together and it went like hot pancakes. It was quite tasty and flavorful, yet simple to make. I didn't have garlic salt on hand, so I substituted it for garlic powder at half the measurement. It still tasted great. I will be making dish again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Great meld of flavors. It's December in Minnesota, which makes fresh green beans a little frivolous for a weeknight dinner, so I used a pint (cut the recipe in half) that I canned myself (no added salt). Because they are already so soft I added them last and just heated them up to temp. The only other change I made was to use black pepper and garlic powder instead of garlic salt. Using unsalted butter helped insure that the entire recipe was not too salty. Love it and will keep the recipe for when the garden is green again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
This was very good, and very easy to make. I brought it to a friends house to go with a prime rib dinner and even her children ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
A very colorful mixture with just the right ratio of each vegetable. My common sense urged me not to add the full amount of salt right away which was the right call for our tastes. This recipe has 4 sources of salt if you use salted butter, so use your best judgment before adding it all. I think 2 T. of butter is plenty to saute the veggies. I sauteed minced garlic with the vegetables since I don't have garlic salt, and used only the seasoned salt of the various salts in the recipe. I think this would be good with some other herbs added as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
A great way to served up mushrooms. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dar Es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam, Tanzania

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I made this and is was good my whole family like it even the kids I'm going to make it for thanksgiving this year, That how good it was...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy Davis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ogden, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
This is my favorite side dish! I make this all the time. The only thing I have changed, is I use canola oil instead of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brewster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Massillon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 380) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States