Green Bean and Mushroom Medley Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
A few will say that by changing a recipe to taste, you are no longer reviewing that recipe. I say, without this recipe, I'd never have found the BEST green bean recipe of my life. Hands down the only recipe I have where everyone will eat the hated green beans. I'd happily have absconded with the pan and had nothing else, & I'm not vegetarian. Changes I made, based on my desires & some pointers posted here: split the butter in half and added 2 tbsp canola oil. (Just don't like olive!) Omitted the salt, up the seasoned salt to 3/4 tsp, garlic powder instead of salt AND added 2 tsp minced garlic. At the end, sprinkled the surface with salt, and sprinkled 1/4 C Parmesan on top. I followed procedure, even when I didn't want to. Steamed my beans and carrots, which I had julienned. For anyone doing this, follow another reviewer's advice; steam the green beans alone for a few minutes before adding the carrots. I didn't. No major consequences, but the veggies would've been more uniform. However, as the mushrooms and onions ended up being a similar texture to the thinly julienned carrots, it didn't really matter! I give this a HUGE 5 STARS. The best veggie recipe I possess. I love all 4 vegetables in the medley. I can't express my thanks enough. As one reviewer mentioned, make this when the dish will accompany something that can be made ahead, or in an oven or slow cooker. This will come out perfectly if you give it your attention, and knife skills. BEAUTIFUL! So delicious. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Worthington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
I pretty much followed the recipe (didn't measure the veggies really), and decreased the amount of butter a little bit. Turned our delicious and was the perfect accompaniment for a dinner party. Looked lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnitaConchita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Great way to use seasonal veggies! I used sesame oil and tossed some sesame seeds on it at the end!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Vaughan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Used more green beans, less onion, and only seasoned salt for salt. Added little garlic powder, rosemary, and thyme. Cooked green beans and carrots on "fresh vegetable" setting in microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Rave reviews from household... used less salt and didn't use carrots. Also used some garlic scapes in about the same length as the green beans (cooked exactly the same way) and everyone thought it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EIKNIP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
This was such a good side dish! Even my 2 year old son at his veggies when we had this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, New York, USA
Living In: Raymore, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
This was very very good. I took the advice of one reviewer and went with 2 TBS of olive oil and 1 TBS of butter instead of all that butter just to make it a bit healthier. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I will never make gb's any other way. Incredible. Didn't have carrots but the gb's and mushrooms were fine by themselves. Made with cajun dry rubbed roasted pork tenderloin and twice baked potatoes. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Q

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartlett, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Germantown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Everytime I make this I love it better. And keep tweeting it a little and I have yet to serve it to guest that they want recipe. I steam the green beans and carrots. I eliminate at lot of butter to 1 tbs and 1 tbs of olive oil. I dice the onions they fill in better that way. Add roasted red peppers or just red bell pepper. And the amount of salt in here will kill you. I use garlic or garlic powder, no salt, 1/4 tsp of a seasoned salt. I get my spices from Penzys Spices.com and I add a 1/2 tsp of Tuscan Sunset.it completes the flavor without the salt. This is my veggie day dish...big pan of it and get it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Not just plain green beans...loved it, a new staple in our menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just for you

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 382) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States