Green Bean and Mushroom Medley Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Made this at Christmas. If you want a simple tasting dish this is it. My mom commented that sometimes it's nice to eat simple. Not sure if this was a compliment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vermilion, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I skipped the butter and used a little Sage and Wild Mushroom Olive Oil, then seasoned with basil, oregano, sage and black pepper, skipping the salt altogether. Turned out nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Good recipe! I made this as a side with meatloaf for my girlfriend and her roommates. They all loved it! it was simple and easy to make, plus it gets some much needed vegetables into their college diet! Already recomended this dish to my mother!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
This is a very tasty spin on a vegetable medley. My husband and I really enjoyed this recipe, and it tasted great alongside the steaks and baked potatoes I made. I didn't use these exact measurements, but I used the recipe for reference and worked with basically the same proportions. I used all of the ingredients listed except for the plain salt (the seasoned salt and garlic salt were sufficient) and the white pepper (I used freshly ground black pepper instead). Also, I used baby carrots that I already had in my fridge, and I cut back on the onion. I used half of one large white onion, which was plenty. I followed the directions exactly except that I boiled the green beans a couple of minutes before adding the carrots after reading another review that stated the carrots cook faster. These little tweaks worked like a charm because the finished product was PERFECTION. I have to agree with other reviews that it tastes better than you expect. The butter, garlic, and seasonings really bring these already tasty veggies to life, and I will be whipping these up again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Bibeau

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
I haven't made it yet but can tell it will be good. I will steam green beans and carrots. I agree with others about olive instead of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichaelThePracticalBBQr

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Awesome side dish! Cant go wrong with mushrooms. All the flavors complimented each other very well. Very easy to make. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Good but may be a bit better with just plain black pepper next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna Culp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ojai, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This was a lovely and colorful side dish at my recent dinner party (main entree was prosciutto wrapped chicken breasts). I added a clove of garlic, minced, with the onion and used black pepper because I didn't have any white on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SandraJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I made this adding corn shaved off the cob with more beans,mushrooms and carrots than specified in the recipe. It was awesome. Can't wait to try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Interesting combo, worked well. Only used the seasoning salt as I cooked minced garlic with the onions. Also microwaved the green beans and carrots rather than steaming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 388) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States