Green Bean and Feta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
These beans are wonderfully tangy especially if allowed to sit overnight (really good that way). If the tang is too strong for you, or if you want something less tangy for a given meal, sub in some balsamic &/or add a touch of extra sugar! Halving the dressing works well if you prefer, but slipping in cucumbers after the beans are gone is fun too. I plan to make these whenever parboiling beans for other dishes, for make-ahead salads, &/or to use up bumper crops. These beans are good on their own or when they are worked into a sandwich or salad. First time around, I served them w/Greek styled meats to fill home made flat breads, all along w/traditional Greek green salad (complete w/lemon and mustard vinaigrette, olives, tomatoes & tomatoes). I wondered if the beans would merely blend into the salad. While they did blend in some, they still stood out in a very nice way in my humble opinion anyway. These beans would also be lovely w/ham (turkey ham of you prefer) on ciabatta, flat bread, or simply on a plain lettuce salad as well. Loved the idea one reviewer had of serving these without the cheese 'french fry style'./These were lovely as is, but I might try some of the suggestions of other reviewers at times (e.g-adding in red pepper, mushrooms, cucumber, sundried tomatoes, fresh oregano, &/or possibly even the fennel seed before marinating/and/or such as adding in grape or chopped tomatoes w/the cheese just before serving, or possibly even subbing blue cheese or mozz for feta).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Using half the liquids as many reviewers mentioned-this was awesome. And it got better each day it sat (didn't make it past three days and that was tripling the recipe!). Making this again really soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
I used Aldi extra fine frozen green beans, cooked just a bit then into ice bath. Dressing is strong but we liked it. Lots of dressing left so I decided to try adding the frozen beans straight from the freezer. Not bad either but a bit chewy. I'll try adding a bit of water next time and reserve some feta to top, most melted into the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Delicious! I made this for a barbecue last weekend and it was a hit! I used red onions because that is what I had on hand and I added halved cherry tomatoes. Next time I will cook the green beans a little longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Very good. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OKIECOOK1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chelsea, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
The longer the beans marinate in this tangy dressing, the better they taste. I opted to smash the garlic cloves, leaving them to infuse the dressing, but removed them before serving. Also, I swapped crushed red pepper flakes for the hot sauce, just adding until it looked 'spicy' enough. And, as noted, this recipe does yield more dressing than needed for 1.5 lbs of green beans.... so thank goodness my garden produced a bumper crop. Thanks to you, LIZ1888, I now have yet another winning recipe the family enjoys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
Great beans! I let mine soak overnight. Very alive and worth making again. I added a little fennel seed (my first time using it!) to another batch and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
YUM! Super easy, and super delicious. I did not have red wine vinegar, so I used all rice vinegar, cut down olive oil to 1/4 C, and added a splash of balsamic vinegar along with the Wocestershire. Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Love it! I use olive oil and omit the hot sauce (not worth it to buy some just for a dash). My boyfriend loves it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
Described as tangy, that is accurate! It is extremely tangy. I think if it had less vinegar, less dressing overall, it might have been good. We couldn't handle it, unfortunately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Fava and Butter Bean Salad

A flavorful cold bean salad with garlic, lemon, roasted red pepper, and mint.

Watermelon, Feta and Cashew Salad

See how to make a sensational summer salad. So refreshing!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States