Green Bean and Bacon Saute Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
Since I can't find a place to submit a recipe, I'll add it here. My green bean saute` uses: 1 can green beans, drained and rinsed 1 Tbsp olive oil 1 Tbsp minced onion 1 Tbsp finely chopped red pepper or pimento (if available, for color) garlic powder or minced garlic to taste Salt and pepper to taste Saute lightly, medium heat, until all flavors are well distributed. Quick and easy and lots of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
Very yummy! I didnt have red pepper on hand, but it was still good. I used fresh green beans instead of frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nickypro25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Bethany, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
I made this with canned green beans, and it was still very good. I want to try it with fresh next time. I did make a few changes: I sauted 1 can of mushrooms in 1 tbsp of butter until browned, then I added a few sliced onions and 1 can of beans. I sauted on medium heat until slightly browned, then added the cooked crumbled bacon and 1/2 tsp of fresh garlic. I did not use any bacon grease to cook the beans. Thanks for a very good recipe for me to experiment with. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wrocklage72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
Added a quater cup of finely chopped onion near the end of the cooking. Truely an Amercian classic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I thought these were really good. The only things I did differently were that I steamed them first, then added them in with the garlic and oil for about 5 min and added the bacon. I also didn't use the red pepper flakes - didn't have any. I loved the bacon in them. Next time I will add more garlic - my husband and I are huge garlic fans! I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Followed the recipe to the note, but it didn't really work for me. Garlic tends to burn quite easily in the last 10 minutes, and really overpowers the taste of the dish. I will try again, but fry the garlic separately and mix it in just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZatriX

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
This was really good. I only used 5 slices of bacon, mainly because I didn't look at the recipe to see how many to use. I also couldn't find any frozen whole green beans so I used fresh but blanched them first. Very simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aunt Ree

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I made this for Christmas with absolutely no changes and it was great! I received compliments right and left! A hint of spice with every bite and when we had leftovers, there was always some on my plate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
This was delicious! I used half the bacon and used fresh green beans. Very, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by scubadiva
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
I followed the directions exactly as written. It was wonderful....HOT, but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalispell, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Bacon and Cranberry Bean Ragout

See Chef John’s delicious take on homemade pork and beans.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States