Green Bean and Bacon Saute Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
This was so easy to make and my boyfriend, who is a chef, raved and raved about it. Okay, I did what others have done, and replaced the bacon with diced pancetta cause I don't like bacon. It wasn't as greasy as bacon would be so I threw in a tablespoon of extra light olive oil. I am so thrilled with the results and so thrilled that my boyfriend loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
It was good. We used garden fresh beans and blanched them instead of using frozen. Tasty recipe our kids liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fryinpan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Shingle Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
Chinese style of this version: Omit the red pepper and bacon - 4 tablespoons of canola oil, throw in the garlic and brown it, add in the french beans, add in abit of water maybe about 7 tablespoons, Add half cup mini or medium sized dry scallops (you can get it in Chinese marts maybe Chinatown?), 2 tablespoons of soysauce (Optional: 2 tablespoon of Hua Tiao Chew) and salt to taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
This had wonderful flavor and a little heat too. Loved it! I used precooked bacon so there wasn't any grease left to cook with. I added 2 T of unsalted butter to do that with. I used a wax bean/string bean/baby carrot blend and it was so delicious. Thanks Cheryl for a great side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
I halved the recipe and used fresh green beans. Turned out great, would make it again. 8-9 minutes was probably long enough, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
These are 3 stars with frozen green beans, but a 4-5 if you use fresh green beans! Yummy! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Brighton, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Awesome. Used fresh v. frozen green beans and had rave reviews from all family members. Super easy, flavorful -- I served it with the Pork in Olive oil Marinade (from this site) and cous cous flavored with an olive oil infused with persian lime. rockin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by idagal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
a little spicy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
This is such an easy recipe, but very flavorful. Of course, bacon can only make things better. I might omit the red pepper flakes next time simply because some people were fearful that it would be too spicy and did not even try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I used fresh green beans in a skillet and by the time they were cooked to my liking, the pepper flakes and garlic were a bit crisp. Regardless, this recipe was scrumptious and I will do it again and maybe slightly nuke or parboil the beans before adding them to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rpollardva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Bacon and Cranberry Bean Ragout

See Chef John’s delicious take on homemade pork and beans.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States