Green Bean and Bacon Saute Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
This was so easy to make and my boyfriend, who is a chef, raved and raved about it. Okay, I did what others have done, and replaced the bacon with diced pancetta cause I don't like bacon. It wasn't as greasy as bacon would be so I threw in a tablespoon of extra light olive oil. I am so thrilled with the results and so thrilled that my boyfriend loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
It was good. We used garden fresh beans and blanched them instead of using frozen. Tasty recipe our kids liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fryinpan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Shingle Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
Chinese style of this version: Omit the red pepper and bacon - 4 tablespoons of canola oil, throw in the garlic and brown it, add in the french beans, add in abit of water maybe about 7 tablespoons, Add half cup mini or medium sized dry scallops (you can get it in Chinese marts maybe Chinatown?), 2 tablespoons of soysauce (Optional: 2 tablespoon of Hua Tiao Chew) and salt to taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
This had wonderful flavor and a little heat too. Loved it! I used precooked bacon so there wasn't any grease left to cook with. I added 2 T of unsalted butter to do that with. I used a wax bean/string bean/baby carrot blend and it was so delicious. Thanks Cheryl for a great side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
I halved the recipe and used fresh green beans. Turned out great, would make it again. 8-9 minutes was probably long enough, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
These are 3 stars with frozen green beans, but a 4-5 if you use fresh green beans! Yummy! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Brighton, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Awesome. Used fresh v. frozen green beans and had rave reviews from all family members. Super easy, flavorful -- I served it with the Pork in Olive oil Marinade (from this site) and cous cous flavored with an olive oil infused with persian lime. rockin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by idagal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
a little spicy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
This is such an easy recipe, but very flavorful. Of course, bacon can only make things better. I might omit the red pepper flakes next time simply because some people were fearful that it would be too spicy and did not even try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I used fresh green beans in a skillet and by the time they were cooked to my liking, the pepper flakes and garlic were a bit crisp. Regardless, this recipe was scrumptious and I will do it again and maybe slightly nuke or parboil the beans before adding them to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rpollardva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Bacon and Cranberry Bean Ragout

See Chef John’s delicious take on homemade pork and beans.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States