Green Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
My grandmother made this ever summer. I was just asking my father they other day how do we make grammas green bean soup, as I am SOOOO Jonesing for this... I cannot wait to try it. We are Slovak and my gram always put those chewy small dumplings in this as well. Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I was raised on this also, but every time I make it my soup curdles when I add the vinegar. What am I doing wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I read the other reviews and decided to make some changes to the recipe. I added potato and carrot and used yogurt instead of sour cream as I didn't have any sour cream. Like one of the other reviewers, I processed the soup and used some of the beans as a garnish. The flavor is great and I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Never having had a green bean soup, I thought this recipe looked interesting. I cooked the green beans in 6 cups of ham stock I had made (chicken would probably work well too). I boiled separately one medium potato diced and one medium carrot diced and added them to the pot once the green beans were cooked. Additionally, I added some sauteed diced ham I had cooked with a medium onion. I had viewed some comparable recipes prior to making this and followed another recipe by adding 3 Tablespoons of sauerkraut with juice in place of vinegar. I found the blend of favors a bit different from the more traditional soups I have made. Slightly tangy from the kraut, but otherwise subtle flavors. I will make it again and serve with dark pumpernickel bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
This was a great soup that had lots of flavor! I did half the recipe and it made plenty for two large bowls for lunch. I do recommend to double the bacon and instead of water to use either vegetable broth or chicken broth and plenty of seasonings. For the garlic I just smashed it and added it in to get the flavor, then removed it at the end. I did not like the vinegar. To hide the vinegar taste, I added in some shredded cheddar cheese to melt. So next time I will just remember to leave out the vinegar completely for us. This would be great with chunks of potatoes in it as well. Nice, simple soup. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Indiana, USA
Living In: Moores Hill, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
We enjoyed this soup a lot. Instead of bacon, I used a ham bone and cooked everything (except the sour cream) in the slow cooker for 8 hours. It needs more than a pinch of salt. Try 1 1/2 tsp. at least. Came out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mictlantecuhtli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Verona, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
I loved this recipe! I followed others' advice by adding potatoes, extra bacon, and two chicken bouillion cubes. I decided to change the parsley to dill, and this seemed to add a nice flavour. I didn't see the need to add the vinegar, so I didn't... it seemed to turn out just fine without it. Definitely worth a try, if you don't mind modifying recipes to suit your own tastes!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Had a bumper crop of mature green beans and made this soup...it was souper:) And my husband loved it; said it reminded him of soup his Grandma used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Another option would be to cook a ham bone with the green beans, etc. for a few hours and add potatoes near the end of the cooking. I mash the potatoes a little to help thicken it. I also add vinegar and a little sugar to balance the tartness. I don't use sour cream. Recipe was handed down from my great-grandmother. This is definitely comfort food and a very inexpensive soup to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I added more bacon, and a flower and milk mixture to thicken. Simmered for 2 hours. The beans were out of my garden. This is a super good soup and good for you plus easy to make. I will make another pot for the freezer. My wife loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Perry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States