Green Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2001
Very good soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
I loved this. I had a couple of other veggies in the fridge to use up, and just threw them in with the beans. I changed it some by adding extra bacon, onion, and garlic. I cooked the bacon and onion together, then added in the flour. Poured some bean soup juice into the bacon onion flour mixture, then put it all in together. I used the sour cream as a dollop before I served. These flavors together were just what I was looking for....and believe me, they work together so well. I appreciate so much your grandma's recipe.....even tho I changed it a little, it was truly delicious! Even my husband said so. Thank you. This was exactly what I was looking for when I searched for a green bean soup...and I had all the ingredients on hand. Totally delicious. Thank you. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPARKS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodinville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Another option would be to cook a ham bone with the green beans, etc. for a few hours and add potatoes near the end of the cooking. I mash the potatoes a little to help thicken it. I also add vinegar and a little sugar to balance the tartness. I don't use sour cream. Recipe was handed down from my great-grandmother. This is definitely comfort food and a very inexpensive soup to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
We enjoyed this soup a lot. Instead of bacon, I used a ham bone and cooked everything (except the sour cream) in the slow cooker for 8 hours. It needs more than a pinch of salt. Try 1 1/2 tsp. at least. Came out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mictlantecuhtli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Verona, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Had a bumper crop of mature green beans and made this soup...it was souper:) And my husband loved it; said it reminded him of soup his Grandma used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
This was an interesting recipe, so I thought I'd make it. My husband and kids LOVED IT! So did I, I will definatly make this one again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
Love this soup. It is also a family recipe. I cook it with out the bacon and use French cut green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Canadian Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I added more bacon, and a flower and milk mixture to thicken. Simmered for 2 hours. The beans were out of my garden. This is a super good soup and good for you plus easy to make. I will make another pot for the freezer. My wife loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Perry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
I loved this recipe! I followed others' advice by adding potatoes, extra bacon, and two chicken bouillion cubes. I decided to change the parsley to dill, and this seemed to add a nice flavour. I didn't see the need to add the vinegar, so I didn't... it seemed to turn out just fine without it. Definitely worth a try, if you don't mind modifying recipes to suit your own tastes!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I was raised on this also, but every time I make it my soup curdles when I add the vinegar. What am I doing wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States