Green Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 20, 2009
This was much too sweet for me. I would use only 1/3 cup of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Santa Monica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
This was really good! It did remind me of the 4 bean salad that my mom used to make. I used Splenda instead of sugar and fire-roasted red peppers instead of pimentos, because that is what I had. Next time I'll cut back the dressing ingredients to about 2/3 because there is a lot more dressing than needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
This is a delicious twist to the ever popular 4 bean salad...one that I like better and tastes much fresher! I did make a few changes based on personal preference. I made this using foods I had on hand...to the frozen corn,green beans and peas I added a bag of frozen mixed veggies (the carrots added a punch of color),cut the sugar to 3/4c cup, used 1/4 cup garlic infused olive oil, a teaspoon of tarragon flakes, 1 teaspoon mustard powder and a teaspoon of freshly squeezed lemon juice. I omitted the pimentos,celery & water. Thank you for such a tasty & healthy salad:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBORAHARV614

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corry, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Victor, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
This recipe is a keeper. I ended up putting in a can of drained black beans, to make it a little more substantial for my fussy teenager. This salad is good the day it's made and I think better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I made this salad today and couldn't wait four hours so tried them after an hour and a half. It was so good, I can imagine how good it will be after it sits a little longer. Can't wait. Followed the recipe. Thanks Patsy. I have something new to serve for the next family gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
I have made this recipe for about 15 years. (Mine is called Marinated Vegetables and came from south Georgia.) Except for the corn and water, and using just a single serving can of peas, it is the same. I would leave the water out. It gets crunchier the longer it is refrigerated. It will keep a week or longer in the refrigerator because of the amt of vinegar and sugar. We love it with meals and as a relish with sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Too much dressing. No need to add water.Cut way back on the sugar, oil and vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
I omitted the pimentos, used a can of white shoepeg corn instead of regular, and added 1 small can of mexican style corn. The only other change I made was reducing the oil to 1/4 cup. I feel that 1/2 cup just makes the salad too oily, which is my reason for 4 stars and not 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carrollton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
I took this to a gathering, and everyone went back for seconds on these yummy veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
everyone likes this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Fava and Butter Bean Salad

A flavorful cold bean salad with garlic, lemon, roasted red pepper, and mint.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States