Green Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2003
Everyone loved this nice cool summer salad. I did revise ingredients a little. I used fresh, blanched corn and green beans. I left out the peas, but they would have been good in it. I used red pepper instead of green, and skipped the pimentos. I also added sliced black olives for color. The marinade was excellent. Try 1/2 cup white vinegar and 1/2 cup white balsamic for a variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2000
This was an easy, delicious salad to make. The only change I'd make would be to use frozen peas, green beans, and corn rather than canned. The canned veggies were a little gray and detracted from the visual appeal of the salad. But overall, this is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
Excellent recipe, I made a rather large batch for a food show and everyone loved it. I did make the following changes - I used frozen whole green beans, frozen cut corn and frozen peas. I ommitted the pimentos (because I think they are gross so everyone else should too ;-)), used red, green and yellow bell peppers and used olive oil not vegetable. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2001
This was one of the best vegetable salads I've ever made. I'm not real big on green lettuce salads but vegetables like these are great. The flavor of this salad was wonderful. I made this for a womens prayer group I go to and they all loved it. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2005
I had a "salad tasting" dinner - we tried 5 new ones from this site and THIS was everyone's favorite - from my 10 year old daughter through my teenagers and finishing with my husband and very picky mother in law!!! I omitted the peas (I hate canned peas!) and added a small can of slivered water chestnuts - fabulous. Thanks Patsy - this will be a favorite for years to come in my house!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Sand Lake, New York, USA
Living In: Rensselaer, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
A very big hit at the office. Even the lady who doesn't eat veggies asked for the recipe! Tastes extremely sweet, though, so I may back off the sugar measurements next time, but overall a definite winner for the pot luck list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RANAROYALE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2000
We really enjoyed this recipe (don't have children at home anymore so can't say how "kid friendly" it would be). It keeps for several days in the refrigerator and the last serving tastes just as great as the first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2001
I personally did not like this recipe. But my ENTIRE family sure did. I seved it at a family dinner (15 people total) and everyone else just loved the cool, crisp taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
Excellent recipe! Well liked especially by some vegetarian friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2004
We really enjoyed this dish. I made a few changes-- Splenda instead of sugar (cut quite a few calories off), olive oil instead of vegetable oil, used some onion powder instead of onion (wife doesn't like onion texture), 1 stalk of celery and no added salt. It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States